Confessions of a Serial Procrastinator

Image result for procrastination

I have to admit, there are a lot of things in my life that I've talked about doing but have not going around to accomplishing. I have plenty of dreams, ideas, thoughts about what I'd like to do in life. Sometimes, I even turn these concepts into reality by putting them into action and seeing them through.

Hey, I'm not a total procrastinator. I actually finish the things I start I sometimes. But I also have a habit of discussing my dreams or aspirations and then failing to live up to my self-imposed expectations.

I'm a victim of my own self-promotion. When someone asks months later about how that project is coming along or if I made it to that place I said I was going to, a feeling of guilt sets in. I'm reminded about the goals I've neglected, and am faced with the reality that I didn't get to that point I said I would.

Image result for embarrassed

At first, I'm embarrassed for not living up to the things I've said. But on a deeper level, I'm upset with myself for not making my dreams become a full reality.

I'm making several steps to change this pattern:

1. Stop Promoting Potential Actions

It's great to have goals, and establishing methods of accountability with one's self, but incessantly promoting a future action does little to get the action accomplished. If people ask me what I'm 'doing', I often fall into the trap of talking about what I want to be doing, instead of the actions I'm currently undertaking. I'm making the effort to avoid this, as I've found it's better to be real about where you're at then unrealistic about where you want to be.

2. Eliminate Distractions

Ok, it's not really possible to get rid of all distractions, but you can certainly minimize the potential for distractions. I've been doing this by seeking out environments that are more conducive to my own productivity, including the library and coffee shops. I've put a halt to my facebook usage as well as try to be more conscious of my websurfing activities, as it is very easy to waste a great deal of time online when you aren't intentional about .

3. Set Daily and Weekly Goals

I may not be announcing my goals to everyone, but I am making attempts to hold myself accountable by setting forth a list of things I'd like to get accomplished. This has been met with mixed results thus far, as I am still able to put off an activity until the next day/week, but I am making improvements in making my thoughts and desires become a reality.

4. Forgiveness for Past Procrastination

It's easy to beat yourself up for the things you fail to do. A part of yourself feels like it's the right thing to do, and that you deserve to feel like shit when you don't accomplish a goal or task. But every moment spent ruminating over the past is wasting energy that could be spent taking corrective action in the present. Forgiving one's self is an important component of moving on from past missteps.

I'm not an expert of overcoming procrastination, as it took me a few days to post this. However, I believe the power of intention and persistence can lead to a better understanding of this often crippling habit.

Ok, that's all for now. I'm hitting the 'post' button, perfect post or not.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center