Happy Pride!

My home city of Ottawa – located on unceded and unsurrendered Algonquin Territory - celebrates celebrates Pride in August to commemorate the 2SLGBTQ+ people who marched to parliament hill in 1971 in protest of the continued oppression of the community despite decriminalization.

I was raised to contribute to that discrimination. I said and did things in my youth that harmed others either directly or by perpetuating harmful views for which I am immeasurably sorry. I am still in the process of deconstructing my thinking. Still learning to do better and give back to the community.

I owe a huge debt to the many 2SLGBTQ+ people and their allies who called me out on my toxicity over the years, yet still welcomed me when I was at my lowest and gently helped me back to my feet.

2023.08.27.3.JPG
Image Description: A head shot of a small black dog - poodle yorkie mix - holds a circular cookie iced white with the word "Pride" written in a rainbow of colours.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center