Bittrex doing facial recognition???

I figured I would test moving SBD to Bittrex, then back to Steemit...because I am here primarily to learn about cryptos.

I had opened the account on Bittrex months ago, and had already tested transferring BTC from coinbase to bittrex, then buying steem from there via blocktrades. That worked fine, back in about August.

Over the last week I tested moving SBD to bittrex, just baby amounts. I wanted to test moving it there, and then either moving it back to steemit, or buying BTC with it.

Today I tried to move it back to steemit, and they asked me to verify the account (which I had already done months ago). So I entered my address, DOB and all that again...they said they couldn't verify the info, which is BS because anyone can verify with name, DOB and the last 4 of SS...so THEN they wanted me to take a current selfie for enhanced verification...

I will loose 0.6 SBD, but I will NOT join the facial recognition movement. I don't have a passport, or drivers licence...and I have an old photo ID from MA that is so old there is no expiration date (which means it has to be accepted legally) They have no photos of me in the database, since about 1980, before they were really saving them.
I have never put my face on facebook, twitter, or anywhere online. There are multiple reasons for this, but privacy is one of the main.

My end feeling on the matter? I will find another way or give my SBD to others at some point in the future...it is not worth undoing years of fighting the facial recognition bandwagon...and I am sure there are other exchanges who are not asking for selfies...

EDIT... I found this tutorial https://steemit.com/howto/@future24/blocktrades-tutorial-part-2-how-to-exchange-sbd-to-btc-and-sell-them-for-euro-or-usd-english-german from @future24, which explains another way...

So directly through blocktrades we can send BTC to coinbase or cex.io exchange.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center