Kusatsu Onsen's Hot Stream Park: Sai No Kawara Koen

Outside the town center of Kusatsu Onsen lies an amazing park - not the park you could think of where you see kids play on the playground, or benches where you could relax, or adults running around and exercising. This park is unspoiled - a very close to nature that is.

Sai no Kawara Koen or Sainokawara Park

Sai No Kawara Koen (西の河原公園 or Sainokawara Park) is located a few minutes walk from the famous Yubatake. It's on the upper part, not on the usual part of the town where tourists gather. We intentionally did a little bit of hiking to go there with my friends on our 2nd day in Kusatsu Onsen, to lose those carbs we just had at lunch and to pass time before riding the bus going back to Tokyo.

Stopover before hitting the park in the mountains

It was a cold day, I mean it's in the middle of winter and we're on the mountains. So we stopped by to get coffee on the way to the park. A friend who had been there before told us there's no cafe or shops in the park so if we wanted to spend time there, better get something to drink or eat just before we enter the park. I got myself a hot cafe latte. Let's see if this hot drink would help me keep warm.

My hot cafe latte from Art Cafe Kusatsu

Just before entering the park premises, we noticed there's an ongoing construction but no workers. We went last year, they must have finished by now. 😅

IMG_0474.jpg

We just followed the walking trail and delighted ourselves with the view of nature. Too bad the snow wasn't a lot by the time we went so we were not walking on a white carpet. On the other hand, it's better because there's no risk of slipping and we could walk properly.

IMG_0475.jpeg

IMG_0505.jpeg

IMG_0507.jpeg

I was so left behind as I was so busy with photos and videos of the park. We're not yet halfway though.

A rest area

IMG_0497.jpg

We passed by toriis (red gates) lined up. I was pretty sure there's a shrine at the top. We didn't bother going though. I was a bit curious of the shrine but if I went up, I would lose sight of my friends.

IMG_0495.jpg

Notice the rocks and their colors? Sainokawara Park is actually full of hot spring water flowing all over (not on the walking trails though). Because it's too hot, the rocks have changed colors.

IMG_0512.jpegIMG_0663.jpeg

Hot water

IMG_0529.jpeg

It's okay to dip in here. Actually we were looking for a place to sit and put our feet in the water (足湯 as in foot bath) but we couldn't find a place to sit. I knew some people come here, sit on a rock, drinking coffee while having a foot bath. I wanted to do the same but we couldn't find a good spot.

IMG_0521.jpeg

IMG_0523.jpeg

IMG_0525.jpeg

There were mini pools, that would have been already perfect for a foot bath. And there's a big one where you could sit on the edge made of wood. Unfortunately there was a notice that it's not allowed to do a foot bath that day, but we saw 2 people not minding the notice and just went on with it.

IMG_0536.jpeg

And now I was totally left behind. I went in another direction and was enjoying the view and now my friends were up there!

Enjoying the view

IMG_0537.jpeg

The mini waterfalls look so refreshing in winter. Say hi to @appleeatingapple and @itz.inno waving at me like we're miles apart.

IMG_0550.jpegIMG_0557.jpeg

And here's me, finding shade in the hut, still holding my not-so-hot-anymore cafe latte.

IMG_1556-EFFECTS.jpeg

Since I didn't want to be left behind any longer, I was able to find my way up only to be welcomed by the majestic view of the park. It's like a mix of untouched and constructed nature.

Sainokawara Koen

I was finally able to catch up with the gang right outside the bathing house.

Way to the bathhouse

The gang! So happy I was able to finally be with them

Yes, it's an open air bath house, and because it's an onsen, expect to get naked in the snow. Well, not really in the snow, but imagine soaking in a big hot bath while you're in the middle of a snowy forest. It's cool, right?

IMG_0596.jpeg

Sainokawara Open Air Bath House

View from outside

There's a fence so your privacy's certain but my friend told me there's a place where you could see the men's area from outside the fence. uwu 😸 Too bad, I didn't go near it!

IMG_0612.jpeg

It seems there were many people who wanted to try but for us, we're not here for onsen. We're just here for a walk. I heard inside there's no shower, just onsen so you have to bring your stuff if you wanna go onsen there.

Heading back

Where we came - the open air bath house

We headed back on our way but we're still looking for a place to settle down. We found a hut and took a few minutes break there. Only for a few minutes while waiting for others, because at that time, we were already freezing in the cold. Our hot drinks were now cold.

Sainokawara Park

IMG_0644.jpeg

Even when our goal was to relax our feet in the hot water on the streams, talking with each other with a drink on hand, none of it happened and instead we were freezing, it was still a fun walk in this park. I got to enjoy the wonders of nature. It was my 2nd time in Kusatsu but it was my first in this park. It was an enjoyable walk and I wish I could come back again some other time - and at that moment, I will really fulfill that goal. Who knows, maybe I can hit the open air bath around this place.


Did you know that today's Hive Power Up Day? Have you powered up already? Here's mine, even only a little!

HPUD

Few hours left, don't forget to join the HPUD!


Thanks for reading!
See you around! じゃあ、またね!



With love,
wittyzell--rc.gif


If you like to read my Kusatsu Onsen travels, here's for you!

Title & LinkRemarks
Another Onsen Trip and Overnight At A Ryokan - Birthday Blog Part 1 - 温泉旅行Ryokan/Japanese Inn
The Hot Water Field Of Japan - Birthday Blog Part 2Attraction
Discovering More Of The Hot Spring Town: Kusatsu Onsen's CharmsTown Walk

All photos are taken using my phone unless stated otherwise.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center