The blue peacock, lat. Pavo cristatus. My entry for Feathered Friends Contest Round 67, MALE BIRDS

Dear community, here is my entry for Feathered Friends - #SMaP Contest Round 67 by @nelinoeva, the Blue Peacock, lat. Pavo cristatus.

dscf0792_1.jpg

As with all birds, the peacock displays magnificent plumage to attract the attention of females. Here, the peacock comes up with one of the most magnificent plumages in the animal world, that's why they like to be kept in zoos.

dscf0791_1.jpg

A striking plumage is very important when choosing a mate, because only a healthy, dominant bird with a good territory can afford to develop a beautiful plumage. This is very important for the female birds when choosing a mate, because they want to give their offspring the best start in life and have the strongest and healthiest offspring possible. In this way, their genetic material lives on in the next generation.

dscf0793_1.jpg

In Germany the peacock is not native, originally it comes from India and Sri Lanka. But already about 4000 years ago it was introduced to the Mediterranean area and found its way from there to the rest of Europe. So I was able to photograph this peacock in a small animal park near me. As you can see, he shows his splendor plumage in full size. I actually wanted to snap him with his feathers tucked in too, but he didn't do me that favor that day. I hope you like the photos anyway.

I would like to thank @nelinoeva, @melinda010100, @barbara-orenya and @oks2crypto for their dedication to this community. You guys/gals make it what it is.

As always, all photos are taken by myself.
Yours, @werkseber

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency