My love for bread is out of this world

I am such a bread freak, I could totally eat that all day. Breakfast, lunch, or dinner 🙂it doesn't matter, bread is always the perfect choice for me. I don't even have to have it fixed up or anything to enjoy it, I eat it plain sometimes and it's good too. I add groundnut or butter or mayonnaise sometimes, and it makes it even better. I can’t get enough of bread. The funny thing is I don't even have a favorite. I love all kinds of bread equally.

My husband finds my love for bread amusing. He laughs and shakes his head every time i say bread or when he sees me eat it. He knows that as much as he picks on me, he cannot. Bread is just something I look forward to, and I think he’s given up on trying to understand why. It’s almost like a running joke between us. He’ll ask, “Again? Like when he sees me eating bread, but I just brush it off and laugh because, seriously, I could probably eat bread every day for the rest of my life and not get sick of it.

What makes bread so special to me is its versatility. Its like one of those foods that can go with any mood I'm in. If I get a salty craving, I can eat it plain or with butter or groundnut. If I'm in more of a rich mood, mayonnaise will do. And sometimes, when I’m just too tired to make a full meal, bread alone is enough to fill me up. It’s easy, convenient, and always delicious. Something about the softness of untoasted bread or even the light crunch of toasted bread. Every bite feels like a small indulgence.

I developed a love for bread when I was a child, I guess. Growing up, bread was always available in the house. From the sandwich bread, to the baguettes, to the sweet, almost paste like bread that you can only get from the little bakeries around there, it was always there. I would have this for a quick breakfast before school or for an afternoon snack after a tough day. Over the years, that habit turned into something more. And then the bread wasn't just sustenance, but something that brought comfort and pleasure. And to this day no matter what else they serve on the menu, I know I can always be full on bread.

Some days I wish that I would just get tired of bread but that has yet to happen. Well, actually I think I enjoy it more than I ever have. It’s become a small, daily joy for me. I mean, I can spread stuff on it and eat it, or I can take a piece and run out the door while eating it, bread just seems to fit right into my life. It’s simple, reliable, and always satisfying.

At last, bread is not only a sustenance to me, but a part of my identity. It makes me feel good, it is always accessible to me whenever I need it, and I don't really think that I could go a day without it. So, when people ask me what kind of bread I like, I don't know. Because for me, all bread is good bread.

All images are my property and take with my techno phone.

This post was inspired by the #inleo community and my entry to day 8 of the #octoberinleo prompt, feel free to participate.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center