You Can Always Choose To Open Another Door

images (30).jpeg
By Alexander Graham Bell

As Alexander Graham Bell said, "When one door closes,another one opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened for us." This is a quote that has been with me since day 1 of entering college.

As I've mentioned in my introductory post before, I shifted course, from bachelor of science in agriculture to doctor of veterinary medicine. My journey in entering my dream course was not easy. There were rejections that I encountered along the way that made me doubt my capabilities.

The fact that I wasn't able to get into my dream course on my first try affected me so much. There were expectations from me by the people around me at that time that added to the stress that I was having. Passing all the other college entrance exams aside from my dream university was ironic and funny in some way. I rejected the universities where I passed without having assurance that I will be enrolled in my dream course.

Come along the day of enrollment when I found out that I was not qualified to be enrolled in the college of veterinary medicine. I didn't know what to do at that time. I was disappointed in myself and kept asking why I failed. It's funny how I even told myself after taking the college entrance exam that it was too easy and confidently thought that I would pass. My friends with whom I took the exam all passed aside from me who was very eager to get into my dream university. They ended up enrolling in a different university and I ended up pushing through with the enrollment.

I had a different path to take at that time, maybe it was my fate of not passing the exam. I enrolled in a different course during the first semester and strived hard to get good grades. By the second semester of my first year, I was fortunate to shift to Doctor of Veterinary Medicine. But the process was not that easy, I had to do paperwork just to be able to shift and convinced my college dean to sign my shifting forms.

I thank God that he was there to guide me on my journey. It might not be an easy path to take but it was worth it. Thinking about it now, if I were admitted to my course now on my first try, would I be this person? Probably not.

My hardships taught me lessons that no one can. It made me stronger and become an independent person who can conquer any challenges along the way. That I can face any challenges on my own.

IMG_20221006_085948_907.jpg

I am already a fourth-year college student taking my dream course. Took the risk and opened a door for me. I may be an irregular student now but it is okay. I may struggle a bit but it's all fine, what matters the most is that I am already studying what I love the most. No rush, I will be able to reach my dreams someday.

As I always tell myself and other people, "If one door closes, you can always choose to open another one. If there's no available door to open, we can always peek at the windows and see if we can have a chance to see what's in there." Not everyone has the chance to open doors for themselves, but if you do, you can always have the option to take the risk. Who knows, maybe that door that you're about to open will lead you to more opportunities and a great life adventure.

May this post inspire you to take risks and follow your dreams. Life doesn't pressure you, it's the people that surround you. If I were you, go to a place where you can bloom. Where you can be happy.

Thanks for reading this!

P.S. The first photo is not mine. Hence, it was given proper credit.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now