The Incredible Hulk #181 in Silver Form!

Growing up I was never a very big fan of comic books. There were several reasons for that I suppose. First I had three older sisters who were definitely not comic book fans so there weren't any in the house. Second I grew up in a more rural area with no comic book stores around within bike riding range. I was also a big Star Wars fan so I may have just not paid attention to superheroes very much.

My first exposure to the genre were reruns of the original Batman with Adam West. I wasn't a huge fan... But then came Christopher Reeve as Superman, they made some great movies starring Reeve. Then came Batman by Tim Burton in 1989 and I was definitely a fan after that. I still didn't buy the comics though.

When my son was younger he was really into superhero movies so we went and saw them all. The Avengers and even the DC movies which just weren't nearly as good unfortunately. I now consider myself a fan but not a comic collector. To be a true collector you need large piles of cash these days. A couple weeks ago I randomly saw this on APMEX and to my surprise it was really pretty cool.

No it's not a comic book, it's a coin produced by the island nation on Niue!

Images from APMEX.com

About the coin:


From numista.com

So this silver coin was produced for the tropical paradise of Niue in the South Pacific ocean. They produce probably more commemorative coins than any other nation on earth and some of them are really cool. What I like about this one is that it really looked like a comic book at first glance. Then you see it has two of the biggest characters in Marvel with Hulk and Wolverine. It caught my eye, and normally I just shuffle past these types of items. However, it is priced at $119.99 on APMEX, which is more than I would be willing to pay for it. That has been the story of my year with some cool finds, they are just priced to high. There will only be 5,000 minted so it might be a good long term investment if Marvel can get it's act together and make some more good movies.

I haven't seen Deadpool and Wolverine yet, but I will when it shows up on Disney+. Going to movie theatres here in southern California has just gotten too expensive for my blood!

I did know that The Incredible Hulk #181 was an expensive comic book having seen it featured on a show once. It may have been Pawn Stars but I don't remember. It was the first appearance of Wolverine which Hugh Jackman later would make a very famous character. So out of curiosity I went on eBay to see how much it would set me back to buy one of the original comic books. Of course condition is everything in these because young boys generally weren't real gentle with their comics. This one was graded a 6 out of 10 and sells for $1,720.

From eBay.com

I also saw one graded 8.5 for only $6,000. I would have to say old comics are out of my price range at the moment! The silver coin would be much less expensive!

Will I be buying one of these coins? I'm considering it if I can get a better price. I'm not a huge fan of colorized silver as a general rule, but something like this will likely appreciate over the years. Especially if Marvel can keep pumping out successful movies, and before Deadpool and Wolverine they have had some serious flops at the box office. Another factor to consider!

That will wrap up my post of the day. Thanks for taking the time to stop by and check out the Hulk and Wolverine coin. You support really is greatly appreciated and has really helped me here on Hive. If you have any questions or comments please feel free to leave them below and have a great day!

References:

https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces408728.html

https://www.apmex.com/product/296820/2024-niue-1-oz-silver-2-comix-marvel-the-incredible-hulk-181

Disclaimer:

I am not a financial planner and this isn't financial advice. Please always do your own research before investing your money. You worked hard enough to earn it!

DUO token

This is a brand new token from the Hive Onboarding Committee (HOC). It offers curation, dividends, and a tipping bot for those who stake enough tokens. The overall purpose of the token is to stack enough HP to be able to assist the HOC in onboarding and retaining new members to Hive.

Please check out the white paper: @hive-193566/duo-white-paper

You can find DUO for sale here:

https://tribaldex.com/trade/DUO
https://hive-engine.com/trade/DUO

If you are interested in precious metals or even want to learn more about them feel free to come join us #silvergoldstackers

I'm a proud member of The Alliance Family!

The HOC is all about onboarding and supporting new Hive members

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
48 Comments