Once in a blue moon

Once in a blue moon

Once in a blue moon.jpg

Sony A7iii 600mm F7.1 1/250 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


There is the saying once in a blue moon which can have multiple meanings I guess, at its most basic term it could be that the moon occasionally looks blue or a tinge of blue, but it more often means something like
To do something “once in a blue moon” is to do it very rarely, like catching a shot of a plane flying past a full moon

well I will be honest I was not lucky enough to catch a plane flying past the moon when I got these shots and neither was the moon blue, this is edited in photoshop with the plane silhouette added

so let me tell you the story of this shot and show the real shots I got, starting with the lens I used to get this shot, which I show in this next shot

unnamed.jpg

Iphone 11 pro
Click here to view larger


This is the Sony 200-600mm G lens which I just recently got, not a cheap lens and one I wasn't really thinking of getting but my wife felt after our move we deserved a treat for each other and she convinced me to get this lens and I must say I do love it and have used it a couple of times, one time I won't go into now but it will be for a future post, and then on the full moon a couple of nights ago I tried it out and am fairly happy with these shots, now it would have been cool if a plane had really flown by or if there was some building I could have used in the shot to have more than just the moon.

Next up a regular shot of the mon, nothing added and no color changes

Once in a blue moon4.jpg

Sony A7iii 600mm F7.1 1/320 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



I took a few shots of the moon and it was nice to be able to zoom in a bit closer than i could with my previous longest lens on this camera which was the sony 24-240mm Lens, but I will only share two shots I got that night, and the edits

Once in a blue moon3.jpg

Sony A7iii 600mm F7.1 1/320 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



and the last shot for this post is where i edited the moon a blue tinge as I often do with my mono edits, it was only now as I prepared this post I decided to play around and add the plane silhouette

Once in a blue moon2.jpg

Sony A7iii 600mm F7.1 1/250 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 40.757756 lat -73.9783137 long between 46th and 47th Street NYC d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center