SHORT STORY SERIES - My Father, the Cat by Henry Slesar

image.png
image source

image.png

This also goes straight to top of the list of short stories I have read. I actually read this just few hours ago. I was originally reading, "The Jolly Corner" by Henry James, but the whole idea seems to always evade me. It is probably why philosophical books get me all wound up. The logic can get airtight, and make my head spin. Maybe I am just a growing baby in the world of literature, or an embryo. haha.

image.png

Henry Slesar was an American author, playwright and copywriter. He has worked with the likes of Alfred Hitchcock on his mystery magazine, and the reputable Edgar Allan Poe. 'My Father, the Cat' is one of his hundreds of short story he has written during his career, and it sure as hell stands out.

image.png
image source

image.png

  • Author - Henry Slesar
  • Title - My Father, The Cat
  • Published - 1957
  • Genre - Fiction, Fantasy, Short Stories

PLOT

The Narrator happens to be one of the main character in the story. The story starts with him (the narrator) describing his mothers extreme fragility, so much so that her father, his grandfather, has to tend to her every need. The care given to her was compared to that given to that given to brief blooming flowers. The narrators father fears for her marriage, as the thought of a heavy-handed man being with her terrifies him. The narrator goes on to describe his mothers weird love for a stray white cat that wandered into their residential estate. Apparently this cat can speak. His mother ends up marrying this cat and so begins the real drama.

SETTING

The story was set in Brittany, France where the main characters inhabited. There is also America where the narrator schooled. New-york.

CHARACTERS

The main characters in the stories are; M. Edwarde Dauphin, an anthropomorphic cat who plays the main role in the story. Etienne Dauphin, the son of the cat. Jonna, the girl he (Etienne) falls so deeply in love with. Francois, the chaperone of the cat.

PURPOSE

For me, this was just an expression of the authors vivid imagination.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLJNNn76D2TkdbELqVYnEymT6pvR1dM9ZgPadrqGpmEt2ei9bCovr6j6VECoPaFcqWXnyuGtBDLvHBACN9SWfEnaPNoEWBxgi6QZYFQXtzZxiaihchi7Q.png
image source

text15.png

I know, I know, the title is a given. Don't get it twisted though, This was a beautiful story. All through reading this story, I was smiling and looking forward to the end, and it sure didn't disappoint. Okay here is the thing. We can all agree that simplicity is beautiful, but Henry Slesar does it so well in this story, and it excites me so much. I think what really emphasizes the idea of the story so well is the logic that the whole story centers around an anthropomorphic cat taking center stage. Another thing I appreciate about this story is the sequential description of the scenes. Makes it feel like a movie. Totally recommend this one for anyone. Rating it a 4/5.

RNFetchBlobTmp_ix0c66z7ppx964akbrq8l.jpg

Thank you for reading. I try not to give spoilers, :). Everything said herein are actually my own opinion. If there is anything I might have missed out, misinterpreted or quoted wrongly even, please point me towards it in the comment down below. Also, you could drop me your mail, so I could email it to you. It's only just 17 pages or there about, it's free. Till next time.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency