Returning wild flowers - Macro Photography

I started some wild flower mix seeds last year, and was curious what would come back this year. We get cold winters here, so most plants go dormant. Or depend on their dropped seeds to form after the frost ends. I was surprised to see many of the wild flowers from last year have returned.

Camera ModelLumix GH6
LensOlympus MSC ED M. 60mm Macro lens
Filternone
Aperturef/3.5
Shutter Speed1/400 sec
Film Speed100
SpectrumVisual Light
Wavelength380 through 700 nanometers
LocationCentral Virginia USA.

Figured some would come back but I had no idea which ones honestly. But good to see if I put down wild flower seeds I may get more the next year as well. I wonder if they will become established on their own and come back every year.

I am thankful for the pollinators that come and visit my flowers and make this all happen. Saw this little bee while I was taking pictures. Made a short animated Gif from it.

Many colored flowers are here, a zinnia flower is above in a red color with yellow insides. I have many colored varieties of this plant.

This time a orange zinnia.

Purple ones can be spotted as well but looking a bit weathered.

A more recently opened one can be seen above.

Its great to see all of these come back, amazed so many did.

A little butterfly visits the flowers.

Bigger ones were spotted as well.

I like these little yellow buds.

It is different from the zennias. So good to see some other plants coming back as well.

Cosmos flowers came back from the previous years flowers also.

Seems mostly the zinnias came back in the majority through.

The bees favorite are the black eyed susans that have returned as well.

We can see one here getting covered in pollen.

It was walking all over the flower looking for more nectar to drink. Such a pretty flower, hope it tastes good too.

Glad to have them around, helping out my plants produce another batch of seeds that will hopefully emerge just like these did.

Pretty colors found in them, transitioning from a black to red and then yellow. I wonder if they will bloom again by end of year. I remembering one flower being very happy during the autumn. So I hope that one comes back.

It is funny seeing them grow in an area I did not plant them, this batch is a few feet away from where the previous plants were. Making me think the wild blew them a bit further and they got started. Amazing as this area is gravel, they must have worked their way down between the rocks.

The flowers are such a pleasure to see, I like going out and just observing all the insects that visit them.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments