Should I?

image.png
Shawn, Shawn and Shaun. This is me and two other people that attended the event. They are members of BNC and we took this photo because we three have the same sounding name.

Today, I attended an event organized by BNCW which is the women division of BNC. It was to celebrate their first anniversary. I was invited as a guest for this event. The best part about this was that I did not have to pay. It felt a bit different because usually I'm helping out at the event but today I was simply there to enjoy the dinner. There was a person at the event that gave a speech and mentioned me about my silent behind the scenes contribution to BNC. I felt embarrassed and shy but at the same time it did feel good to be recognized.

Anyways I'm suppose to share a problem I am facing. I work for this association called BNC as a part-timer. I help out with administration work like helping to sign stuff, write minutes, invoices collect money etc. Not too long ago, I did submit a resignation letter about a month ago as I felt like moving onto something new. In addition to that, the workload was increasing and the association actually is a bit messy behind the scenes. It's not in a bad way but there can be work to be done to make things more structured. The problem is that there are some people that want me to stay and they were willing to increase my pay as well. I'm kind of stuck thinking whether I should continue with this part-time job or not.

Just to add some background. This is a business networking club. It's kind of ironic for me to be working at this networking club as I'm a person that doesn't really socialize or like to socialize a lot. I'm just ok every now and then hanging out with friends. The people in this club are all business people so they are socializing all the time to do business. Most of the members know me since I'm the person that finds them for payment or I'm a person go to for questions related to the club. From what I can tell, most people have a positive view on me since I'm great at my work. I'm known for being fast and efficient. I got started working in this club due to my father since he was the past president. I just did it because he told me to do it and learn new things.

I still have until the end of this month to decide. Even if I decided to continue, I don't think this is where I would end in my future. The increased salary is great but personally I don't think money is everything. I realized after being in this business club that there are so many ways to make money. There's just so many types of businesses that can be done and many different jobs out there. Ideally, I would like to be full time web3 but it's not the most consistent form of income at the moment. Anyways what do you think? Should I continue or should I just move onto something new?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now