Ungrateful acts of human

A wise man once told me that "appreciation is an application for more," but unfortunately, people don't see it that way, and it's said that "one good turn deserves another." This has changed likewise. People no longer do good because it comes from their hearts; these days, people do things or help others for the rewards attached to it. Sometimes, I wonder where we've missed it that only a few number of people still understands how important being appreciative is.

Image source

As a person, I love showing appreciation for any good deeds or acts towards me. Let me say because my culture so much emphasizes the importance of appreciation. The Yoruba tribe is known for quality appreciation; they are grateful for every little gift they receive, and such appreciation always prompts them to do more. Being kind is something of the heart; it can't be forced, so also is being appreciative. An ingrate will always be one no matter how far you go to please them. This prompt made me remember a story that happened to me last year; I hate seeing someone in pain or distress, but I'm always willing to help in the little way I can just to put a smile on someone's face.

There is a friend of mine who was in a bad situation sometime last year due to debt; he was being disturbed by loan sharks, and dealing with all these loan companies can be so frustrating because they portray one in a bad image,e, especially when their monies not returned when due. He was getting threatening calls from these loan sharks and all sorts of unpleasant messages, which got to me because it had started to affect him negatively. He became depressed and uncoordinated due to the inability to pay his debt, which could tarnish his image if his photograph was posted on social media. If that should happen, he will be tainted as a thief and fraudster; the fear of this got him running helter-skelter to source money to pay back his debt.

At that time, I didn't have enough at hand to lend him, and I wanted to assist him in the little way I could; then I had to go against my principal by collecting my four months thrift money (money kept with someone as savings on weekly or monthly purpose) to sort his debt. I was glad I was able to help him out of the turbulent time, although the money was lent to him, not a gift, which meant he was to pay it back, but then I made it at a convenient time for him. I didn't mandate him to pay at a particular time but then I expected him to pay back. Weeks turned into months, and he wasn't saying anything about refunding the money I lent him even when he was okay financially. After three months, I decided to ask him about the money and his response sent a shock down my spine.

At that time when I requested the refund, I had some financial needs that needed to be attended to but instead of being appreciative to me for coming to his rescue when he was in dire need he was stating the fact that he didn't ask me to get my savings to help him, it was my choice to do so therefore I shouldn't make it look like he was at my mercy. That day, my mouth was left wide open; I was wondering where those words were coming from. This is someone I was willing to help to protect his image which could get ruined over such a trivial matter. Then, a week later, he sent the money to me and called to tell me he had sent the little amount of money I lent him, which I was asking for as if it was a huge amount of money. Immediately, he said that I felt cold, and I wanted to regret that kind act towards him, but then I knew I did it because I wished to. His unappreciative attitude wouldn't make me stop helping when I saw people who needed my help.

Thanks for your time, and your comments will be appreciated.

@nwothini335/clean-planet-third-biweekly-prompt-results-new-prompt-in-this-life-we-live-32g

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center