Coping mechanisms for burnout

It's the beginning of the weekend, and I must say today's topic speaks about the stress one might have undergone during the week. The dictionary defines burnout as an act that ruins one's health; it can also be referred to as being completely exhausted from overwork.

photo-1657029941667-68b0038af164.jpeg

source

Quite a good number of people undergo stress every day, whether they are working for themselves or as employees of someone else. Stress is inevitable, and so is overworking, and this is not so good for one's health. Some people are being placed on medications today because of a health challenge, and they will be told to avoid stress at all costs.

Recently, my dad fell ill, and when he was being diagnosed, we were told his blood pressure was high and he was told to avoid anything that would stress him out. He was told to rest more and eat well, and the doctor told him to slow the pace at which he works because, as he grows older, his system becomes weaker, but because of his stature, he always thought he could still do the things he did twenty years ago, but no, he can't anymore, as they are telling him about his health.

HOW TO IDENTIFY BURNOUT

As young as I am, I do feel burned out sometimes, especially when I am overworked. Although I always try to save myself from stress, the educational system in my country alone is enough to stress me out. Going to school is a major stress for me; spending eight to nine hours in school every day would drain anyone out. How I identified burnout for myself is:

  • I feel drained.
  • One-sided headache
  • I feel irritated.
  • I feel angry.
  • I feel sad.
  • Sleeplessness and body aches

When I started having all these symptoms, it told me that I was burned out and I needed rest. And I don't take rest for granted if not one would break down in no time, which might be risky to one's health.

OVERCOMING BURNOUT

Just as I said earlier, stress is inevitable in human life; we will have to go through stress at some point. But how can we then overcome burnout and live a healthy life? At times, burnout is not limited to the physical alone; sometimes it includes emotional and mental exhaustion.

Our quest for success at times burns us out, and yet we don't realize it until we break down. To overcome burnout, one must first realize the following:.

  • Acknowledging that one is burned out. This is a stage where you have to agree with yourself that you are exhausted and slow down. Many are at this stage, and they don't realize it yet.
  • Distancing oneself from anything that causes stress. Just as I said earlier, school is the major thing that stresses me out. Anytime I felt burned out and couldn't take it anymore, I took my time to rest because I knew I would only perform well when I'm healthy.
  • Focusing on self-care is very important, I must say. It is a great coping mechanism to sleep well, eat well, and take good care of one's mental health to avoid health challenges that might be lifelong.
  • Seeking the support of families and loved ones; sometimes, when one is all burned out, all that is needed is a feeling of being loved. Being with people that make you complete—people you share close bonds with—that feeling of being accepted and cherished—and in no time one would be out of the burnout.

For me, these are my suggested coping mechanisms for burnout. With this, emotional, physical, and mental stress could be reduced, and one would enjoy life at its best.

Here is my entry into #aprilinleo monthly and daily prompts. You can participate via this LINK

Thanks for your time and your comments will be appreciated.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center