Micro-Learning : A learning method that really saved me

image.png

Back in 2020, while the pandemic happened, it was a big tragedy for all over the world. Moreover after the devastation of it, I was left wandering in a world of doubt and uncertainties. Suddenly we all were forced to face the sudden end of our academic careers, just like many others of my age. To put it in order, it was the starting to go from busy classrooms to the weird silence of isolation. Days turned into weeks, weeks turned into months, and weeks into months again, as I tried to make sense of everything that was around.
At first, I tried to keep things as normal as possible by adjusting with the sudden shift to conventional study techniques. However, as the weeks turned into months, the after effects of the circumstance started to show. Academic motivation was long gone, focusing on something seemed quite impossible, and all the known patterns of study seemed like some sort of thing of the past.
It was in the midst of that rollercoaster period that I became aware of the techniques of microlearning. As I already tried some techniques here and there to learn new stuff, I got really interested in this and made the decision to learn more about this unexplored area of memorising lessons because it seemed intriguing to me and offered bite-sized knowledge.
So I started by dividing the intimidating amount of study material into smaller parts, more digestible portions. I had accepted the idea of learning in short, concentrated bursts and had moved past the long study sessions. I started carving out little periods of time throughout the day to study after discovering a new purpose.

image.png

Source
Back then all I had was my laptop and my mind full of curiousity. I set out on this exploration to go beyond. I decided that I would focus on one idea or subject every day, spending no more than two hours at a time learning everything there was to know about the topic. The exhausting hours I used to spend memorising those boring, long textbooks were gone, and I felt liberated by the ease with which microlearning could be applied. This method really started making those topics easier for me in every way.

But the thing that really felt the most pleasant to me about microlearning was the flexibility it has to offer, not just the format. I could now study at my own speed and according to my own terms because I wasn't constrained by strict deadlines or schedules. The whole method was so flexible that it felt like it fits right into my daily schedule, even if it was an instant study session over coffee in the morning or a quick review before bed.

As a month passed, I started to realise that there was something different about me. Once which topics seemed impossible to understand for me started to get easier for me. The insurmountable hurdles gave way to more manageable difficulties. And because of the consistent reinforcement coming from microlearning, subjects I used to be afraid of were coming my way. The biggest influence, though, might have been on my general wellbeing and my mental health. I felt pleased and satisfied overall with my studies. It felt a lot lighter. The days of tense study sessions and restless nights were gone by then and I was left with a fresh point of view for everything around and a sense of equilibrium. I found that by dividing my studies into manageable chunks, I was able to start each day with fresh enthusiasm and concentration.

Naturally, there were some obstacles along the way. On some days, I felt really unmotivated and that distractions might prevent me from moving forward. But even after everything that I went through like the post-effects of isolation, the mental breakdowns, the panic attacks I never gave up on my dedication to learning more and more. Because I knew that every little step I took would eventually get me nearer to the goals that I did set for myself and I was very eager to achieve.

As some months went by, I started to see the results of my utmost hard work. As a teenager I only didn't improve academically, I also developed a better sense of self and got to know my own abilities. I discovered how to enjoy the educational process and to acknowledge every little accomplishment along the way. I also made myself proficient enough that I was even able to explain and teach some of my juniors.

Now when I think of this whole thing, how out of nowhere I was introduced to a study method and how it helped me throughout my journey, I am incredibly appreciative of the part microlearning played in getting me through the pandemic's worst days. What I started out as a last try out effort to save my grades back then turned into a life-changing event that changed the way I approached my whole way of education. Ultimately, now when I came out more powerful and resilient than I had ever been, knowing that there always exists a way forward, regardless of times of difficulty. And I will always be appreciative of the power of micro-learning for that.

Have a good day!!!
This is my entry for #aprilinleo day 28 for the Inleo initiative. You can also join us by reading all the details in the announcement post.

Thanks for reading my blog. Please share your valuable thoughts in the comment section. Happy reading.

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments