A memorable April Fool's day Surprise

April Fool is something I always heard ever since I was little but I haven't been pranked with it before, my boyfriend then who later became my husband now promised to prank me with it someday. But he didn't throughout the whole years we spent together in the school hostel.


Source

After graduating, we got a job in different places and that create a little bit of distance between us, all we do is chat on the phone and that always happens at night.

April happens to be my birthday which makes April a remarkable month for us because I always celebrate it in the little way I can so I didn't think of April fool all that was on my mind was my birthday whenever we enter the month of April.

It was Easter Monday which the date was on the first of April, I was at home and I heard a knock on the door.

"Who's there?" I asked as I walked closer to the door. I opened it and it was Dee, my boyfriend.

"Hey babe," I greeted him with a kiss but he didn't respond to me like he always does.

"Hi," he replied as he stepped in.

"What's going on with you, is that how you will greet someone you hardly see during the weekdays?" I asked him with a confused look.

"See Dara, there is something I came here to tell you," he said as he sat on the couch.

"Really? Ok am all ears," I replied as I sat next to him.

"I think... I need a break," he flushed the sentence out of his mouth.

"I don't get you, a break from what? Work? Life or me? Which one," I asked again.

"I mean, come to think of it, we hardly see and I needed someone close to me, I need a girl by myself always," he explained.

"We hardly seen? I always come down to your place every weekend is that not enough for a relationship? Ok fine I will move in with you if that is the problem," I replied just to make sure I didn't lose him.

"No, Dara you are not getting it, I am tired of this relationship, I want to enjoy myself like every other guy, in fact, we are done," he said and stood up.

He was about to leave when I went on my knees while I grabbed his leg begging him, "Dee please, where do you want me to start from after all this year?". With tears in my eyes.

He didn't look at me he just kept on saying, "I want to leave, so let me leave after all relationship is not by force,".

Immediately he said that I thought I had lost him forever I screamed, "Please".

"He screamed back, "We are done" Immediately he said that some people came in and I quickly stood up and asked, "Who are you people? And why did you enter someone's house without knocking,".

A guy stretched a box to Dee and he took it, Dee opened the box and brought out a ring then kneeled before me and said, "Will you marry me?" I wiped my face and asked, "What's going on here? We just broke up some minutes ago, so what's the ring all about?".

Before I could say anything all his friends entered including my colleagues at work, I was short of words but I managed to say, and all of them started shouting, "Say yes,".

Well, who wouldn't want to say yes after all these years of being in a relationship? So I said "Yes,".

Immediately I said that he put the ring on my finger then I asked him again, "But,".

He hijacked what I wanted to say, "But what?" While he kissed me then laughed and continued, "I told you I was going to prank you with April fool since you haven't experienced it before and today happened to be April first, more so I am sorry I made you cry, I couldn't stand your tears and that was why I look away,".

"How come I forgot today is April first? Happy New Month baby," I said to him.

"Welcome to your month," he replied then hugged me while everyone in the sitting room cheered for us.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center