What Are Festivals Without Drinks

Screenshot_20240420-234008.jpg
Designed on Canva

My parties and festivals had never been complete without drinks. Or let's just say what are festivals without drinks? When it comes to hosting a party or attending a festival, one of the first things I set out money to buy is the presence of alcoholic beverages, because why not?

In our world today, it has become obvious that drinks have become a symbol of celebrations and social gatherings, adding an element of fun and relaxation to every event. My friends would usually tell me to buy drinks for them whenever I achieved a milestone. Sometimes I do not even need to bring a deejay or musician to perform, the drinks and a little chat talk would do the magic.

The young boys do not joke with alcoholic drinks these days, and I think I am also one of these boys. Although I have learned not to take it too much, there are days when I still get drunk in the clubs. We have all manner of alcoholic and energy drinks and although some of them may taste bitter, they are still the treasures of the party, lol.

I call these alcoholic beverages the heroes in bottles because they have the ability to perform magic at social events by turning a shy introvert into a dance floor diva. I don't know what they put in drinks to possess this level of impact on individuals.

I know a very shy girl back in our early university days who became a beast on the dance floor because of 1 bottle of an alcoholic drink. Judith was one of the shyest friends I met in school, she was my coursemate too, and on the day of our matriculation, she surprised me.

IMG_20220714_132842_32.jpg

On the day of our matriculation, I won a free alcoholic drink by throwing a circle object on the drink and getting it from afar. Those who attend matric in my country should be familiar with this game, I have left a picture above for a reminder, lol.

We got home in the evening and I insisted that Judith join me in my place to celebrate the matric for the night. That night was all party at my apartment, as there was music, dancing, and of course drinks.

I would confess that I made Judith drink too much that night in celebration, and not too long into the celebration the magic happened, lol. The shy Judith that we all know became the center of attraction to all present there, as she stood up and danced like she was a pro.

Some people just need a sip of light beer and the magic would happen to them, lol. Some wouldn't stop talking after a sip, and some would remember everything they have done from childhood with just a sip, lol.

Sometimes I begin to wonder about the mystery behind these drinks that makes them that impactful. The mixology of beer must have involved a little bit of madness and a higher degree of toxicity. These beverages are not just about the buzz; they're about the journey from the first sip to the last drop.

And before I forget, let's talk about the impact of drinks on traditional activities. According to the traditions of my land, whenever a man is going to pay the bride price of his fiance, he must come with some gallons of palm wine to the family of the girl.

Some other traditional activities and festivals also require the use of drinks to complete the celebrations. I recently attended a new yam festival in my region, and I discovered that the majority of the people dancing were women. I believe you can guess where the men were. They were busy drinking alcohol and chatting happily under the canopies.

IMG-20220830-WA0018.jpg

Drinks can't be taken from celebrations and festivals, it had always been so and it would always be so. Without drinks, parties might just be gatherings of people munching on snacks and discussing the weather. But with them, each event becomes a potential epic moment that would last for a long time in our memories.


My entry for day 20 of the InLeo monthly prompt, organized by the leo.task's team. You can check out the link here for participation.
ChYr1cJZCH5KfwX7xvgyPTJHReVjzpYTs2X9NMgq8cmteWrCuPwadzch9oVJze5PASvvJsUtqL3nskxfPnZV5b2Gpi7bPEtq1wbvsZXqn9qxqNxrqXo5DK1hZ9Schpfay1Ls4BaYDcWcokNNLwihWL6qAsvWG7vtZcCAXvkSv46K9Y3sixHvm5uS1ihvke.webp

All images used here are mine..

I appreciate your time around here❤️:-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments