Bridging Cultures: My Experience with a Curious Immigrant || [ESP/ENG]

Being an immigrant in another country can be a nice adventure, although it might be hard for some people to adapt initially. Imagine finding yourself in a strange land where you have a lot of the country's culture to catch up with and friends to make so as to make things easier for you. Trust me, it seems to be a little bit of a chore, but for an extrovert like me, I "may not" totally find it so hard to adapt 😃. I have never been an immigrant to any country, but I deeply wish for this kind of experience. However, I have met an immigrant in my locality a few years ago, and I will quickly share my little experience with her.

IMG-20240919-WA0119.jpg

There are a couple of reasons why people consider immigration. It can be for job opportunities, better education, or even for a better, healthier life. Whatever the reason of anyone is okay as long as you do your research before leaving your country.

So this immigrant I met in Abuja in the year 2014 was a Philippine who migrated because of a job opportunity she got in one of the biggest companies in Abuja. I didn't meet her directly but through my boss, with whom I worked in his laboratory as a dental technologist. The Philippine lady usually comes looking for my boss, and within a short time, we became friends as well.

We got even closer when my boss celebrated his 50th birthday and hosted a big party for the event. On the D-day, this Philippine lady came for the event exactly at the time scheduled for the event and was surprised to see empty chairs everywhere. What she didn't know is that here in Africa, there's what we call African time. It means that we barely stick to the time of the event but add extra time. She found it weird though, lol. I was there at the time of her arrival because I followed to prepare the meals we ate for the party. We had time to mingle together while I shared with her certain things about my culture.
She was a curious lady who wanted to know all about my culture in a day, but gradually I was educating her, and she loved the new knowledge. She was also curious about understanding many landmarks in the locality, and on weekends, we could stroll around places.

IMG-20240919-WA0116.jpg

Our African food was one surprising thing I saw her eating comfortably. Just say that this lady is a great adventure. Someone like me will find a strange food uncomfortable initially, but it was the opposite for this immigrant. She also craved to explore my native attire,including my native language but it was just so complicated for her to learn the language within the short time we stayed together before I left Abuja.

The little time I spent with this immigrant while I was in Abuja was very adventurous for her. What I loved most about her is her curiosity to know more about where she found herself, learning the culture, and making friends along the way. If I should become an immigrant tomorrow, I think I will take her route as well.

Finally, I have noticed that in my locality, migrants are usually treated nicely. In one of my visits to a conservation center with my family, these people were attended to first before others, despite arriving late. I have also met one in the clinic, and the way my people gave him VIP attention was super amazing. I wonder if it's like this in other countries 😃

This post was inspired by the #inleo community and my entry to the #septemberinleo monthly topic Day 19 .Please check out the prompt to get involved.

Images were created using meta Ai

SPANISH

Ser inmigrante en otro país puede ser una bonita aventura, aunque a algunos les cueste adaptarse al principio. Imagínate encontrarte en una tierra extraña en la que tienes que ponerte al día con gran parte de la cultura del país y hacer amigos para que las cosas te resulten más fáciles. Créeme, parece una tarea un poco pesada, pero para una persona extrovertida como yo, "quizá" no me cueste tanto adaptarme 😃. Nunca he sido inmigrante en ningún país, pero deseo profundamente tener este tipo de experiencia. Sin embargo, he conocido a una inmigrante en mi localidad hace unos años, y rápidamente compartiré mi pequeña experiencia con ella.

IMG-20240919-WA0119.jpg

Hay un par de razones por las que la gente se plantea la inmigración. Puede ser por oportunidades laborales, por una mejor educación o incluso por una vida mejor y más sana. Cualquiera que sea la razón de cualquiera está bien, siempre y cuando haga su investigación antes de salir de su país.

Así que esta inmigrante que conocí en Abuja en el año 2014 era una filipina que emigró por una oportunidad de trabajo que consiguió en una de las mayores empresas de Abuja. No la conocí directamente, sino a través de mi jefe, con el que trabajaba en su laboratorio como protésico dental. La filipina solía venir a buscar a mi jefe y, en poco tiempo, también nos hicimos amigas.

Nos acercamos aún más cuando mi jefe celebró su 50 cumpleaños y organizó una gran fiesta para la ocasión. El día D, esta señora filipina llegó exactamente a la hora prevista para el evento y se sorprendió al ver sillas vacías por todas partes. Lo que ella no sabía es que aquí en África existe lo que llamamos la hora africana. Significa que apenas nos ceñimos a la hora del evento, pero añadimos tiempo extra. A ella le pareció raro. Yo estaba allí en el momento de su llegada porque seguí para preparar las comidas que comimos para la fiesta. Tuvimos tiempo para mezclarnos mientras compartía con ella algunas cosas sobre mi cultura.
Era una señora curiosa que quería saberlo todo sobre mi cultura en un día, pero poco a poco la fui educando y le encantaron los nuevos conocimientos. También tenía curiosidad por conocer muchos lugares emblemáticos de la localidad, y los fines de semana podíamos pasear por los alrededores.

IMG-20240919-WA0116.jpg
Nuestra comida africana fue una cosa sorprendente que la vi comer cómodamente. Sólo decir que esta señora es una gran aventura. A alguien como yo le resultaría incómoda una comida extraña al principio, pero para esta inmigrante fue todo lo contrario. También le apetecía explorar mi atuendo nativo, incluso mi lengua materna, pero le resultó muy complicado aprender el idioma en el poco tiempo que estuvimos juntos antes de que me fuera de Abuja.

El poco tiempo que pasé con esta inmigrante mientras estuve en Abuja fue muy aventurero para ella. Lo que más me gustó de ella fue su curiosidad por saber más sobre el lugar donde se encontraba, aprender la cultura y hacer amigos por el camino. Si el día de mañana me convierto en inmigrante, creo que también seguiré su camino.

Por último, me he dado cuenta de que en mi localidad se suele tratar bien a los inmigrantes. En una de mis visitas a un centro de conservación con mi familia, estas personas fueron atendidas antes que otras, a pesar de llegar tarde. También he conocido a uno en la clínica, y la forma en que mi gente le dio una atención VIP fue súper sorprendente. Me pregunto si es así en otros países 😃.

Este post fue inspirado por la comunidad #inleo en y mi entrada a la #septemberinleo tema mensual Día 19 .Por favor, echa un vistazo a la prompt para participar.

Imágenes creadas con meta Ai

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center