The Curious Case of a Remarkable Child: A Story of Intelligence and Growth

The level of his curiosity right from his tender age till date baffles me. The word "why" is constantly found in his mouth. A child so sensitive to his environment and many things that concern him, and he wants to know why this and why that. His constant questions from his inquisitive mind can be so irritating sometimes, but I don't let him stop asking his unending questions; otherwise, I may limit him. He is a good observer and sometimes questions my actions, which makes me feel guilty upon reflection.

AKF8CAVjh5GnFopyExywpa2uDAXMuLvYYS8ZRuj233miUGu9tXYwcMUsWTa42PC.jpg


One of my neighbors said that this my second child behaves as if he had existed in this world before. The woman always wonders about his level of thinking and the kind of questions he asks me as his parent. Most times, it's just too much for his age. Whenever you ask him to do anything, he will want to take his time and do it with perfection,his academics included. A child who watches cartons with his pocket dictionary. Can you imagine such a thing? I think I am blessed to have him as my child. I don't know what the future holds for him, but I am positive about everything. How he began to use his pocket dictionary to watch cartoons was because, for every vocabulary he hears and does not understand the meaning, he will run to Mummy to ask for the meaning. Sometimes, I don't even know the meaning of the words he is asking for except I will browse them.

I wondered why he wants to know the meaning of every word he comes across at his age, and sometimes I will dismiss him with the reason that I am busy. Come back later. This made him request his pocket dictionary from his teacher, who always keeps it on their class shelves. Since then, he no longer asks me for the meaning of most words but watches his cartoon and checks the meaning of some vocabularies himself. He has showcased a remarkable curiosity in so many ways, suggesting ideas for some little things in my home that leave me in awe, and that's nice of an intelligent child like him. When I was a child, I knew that I was a curious child, but not to this level with my second son. This particular attribute has helped him advance his knowledge a lot at his younger age; currently, he is a six-year-old child.

AKVVsg3uK6pKWEVuYhLyXLJwxi7gazvWGWc5qRTHTas4uPW4gYcKTnjnjXre6JG.jpg


The moment I was so impressed by his intelligence was when he competed with his mates in the math Olympics. This oral and written competition was done in five stages, but the school still couldn't determine the winner as two other kids plus my child showed same level of intelligence in that exercise. The school tried puzzles; they all got it right; they exhausted all the questions at their age and then decided to take grade 4 questions for children in grade 1. This move was just to determine the winner since it has proved difficult. The question given to them this time was a problem-solving activity that requires critical thinking.
243zpK5jivCjJ6WrYb9eNUkw4LZbUaCeuR4Yv6Y9bnfLcf73RWuUWXZVadLUUWUbLZCrF.jpg

To my greatest chagrin, my son got it right ; I wasn't there, but I was called by the school. I visited the school the next day and requested that I see this question. Sincerely, I think and think and didn't even know the answer. Then I asked my son, How did you know the right answer to this word problem? and he said, Mummy, I just think; you just have to think about each word in the question. I was left quite emotional and happy at the same time and concluded to become more intentional with his academic pursuit, getting involved, and keeping offering assistance where needed. He has been recognized by his school many times for his outstanding performance, and those are the original pictures you saw above.


Children have different levels of intelligence with the potential to be outstanding adults. What we can do as their guardians is to help them explore, discover their skills, and keep learning and growing.

This post is in response to the #HiveLearners Community Contest on the topic titled Sheer Intelligence.

Thanks for reading through♥️♥️♥️

All images are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center