A lie to calm her down

Everyone of us knows that lying is not good because it's a falsehood act but sometimes we have to lie to avoid trouble so as to protect those that we love or care about. There are some situations that might lead us to crossroads and the only way out is just to cook up something very fast so as to avoid the situation.

photo-1583443955294-fc2d3881ef48.jpeg
Source

As a human being, I have told lies to avoid hurting people's feelings, I'm a kind of person that doesn't love to see people I know feel bad, so sometimes a little white lie is needed to lift their spirit.

As a private person that I am, I hate when people invade my privacy and makes me inconvenience. But there are some situations where I don't have a choice than to accept people just the way they are. For instance, when people visit me without prior notice I usually pretend and welcome them wholeheartedly, most times my visitors would plead that they know they didn't inform me before the visit but I will pretend that everything is alright but deep inside me it a big lie, it doesn't go well with me at all.

Or when a friend or a relative cooks a meal for me and he or she is asking for a review of the meal, I'm always careful of the way I answer such a question because I won't want to discourage the person and not appreciate the kind gesture. So most times even if the meal has little comma, my review will be a pass mark for the fellow.

In my case, I remember a few months ago that I had to lie to calm my elder sister down so as to prevent her from having physical confrontation with her tailor. It happened that she was part of those that will be presenting at her place of work in commensuration of her office anniversary and an outfit was made for the occasion.

So she collected her clothes and took it to her tailor in which she chose a specific style for the tailor to sew. I don't know what really happened because the lady had been the one sewing nice outfits for her but on that particular dress her brain went really off cause she sewed a style totally different from what she had chosen.

photo-1596215143762-aedbf154e539.jpeg
Source

When my sister collected the clothes she was weeping profusely, she concluded that she won't appear at her office on the day the cloth will be worn because some of their top officials from Abuja will be in attendance and she doesn't want to look like a clown. She lamented on how her tailor was forming a super woman when she took the clothes to her, assuring her that she understood the style she showed her, only for her to mess it up.

When I was asked to say my views on her clothes, I told her the style isn't that bad, that it's manageable. The only thing we need to do is to cover up some open area with trimming so as for it to form a style. I felt bad for not telling her the truth but I had to restrain myself from saying the truth because I know it will shatter her heart the more.

It was a difficult situation for me because I had to work on the clothes. If I was told to say the truth, hmmm the style was absolute different but I didn't have a choice than to lie so as to lift her sorrowful spirit.

In the long run, she managed the cloth for the occasion and snapped with her colleague. It was after the program I told her the truth but I was surprised she appreciated my kind gesture of lifting her spirit with my white lies.

So if I am faced with such a scenario again, I will still make the same decision because I hate to see people in their hurting state.

Thanks for visiting my blog!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center