An Early Morning Rise

10.jpg

It was 05:00 AM sharp— an hour and a half earlier than my normal rising time.
The surroundings were as dead as my laptop battery, but the crisp morning air with water droplets on the grass prompted me to do some stretches.

Untitled design-200.jpg


These stretches activated my muscles to take on my early morning chores before the day's cruise.

Untitled design-201.jpg

We set off at the perfect time and were joined by another boater who shared the operation of the locks. I like it when this happens because we conserve water. As we reduce unnecessary filling and emptying of water from locks, having another boater also speeds up the lock operation process and eases the pressure on each lock operator.

1.jpg

On this occasion, one of the lads was new to operating the locks, so I was able to take him under my wings, he quickly got the hang of it and even assisted me in opening a stubborn, rusty paddle.

2.jpg

We felt enveloped by the nature around us, and we were all mesmerised by it.
When we think of stunningly beautiful islands, the UK is not foremost on our minds, but the UK countryside offers undeniable tranquillity.

3.jpg

It's June, but the sun disappeared and rain clouds loomed. I was touched to hear the guy (Simon) who I was opening the locks with say, "It's liquid sunshine."

I asked him where he'd learned that term from, because it's a common saying that we have in Jamaica, and he said, "I said it from my heart. That's what I feel."
I smiled.

4.jpg

A feeling of charm took over me when Simon said,

"I bet you never thought, as a little girl in Jamaica, that you would be on a narrowboat in the beautiful countryside of England."

5.jpg

As I go along the canals, I reflect on the tropical islands where I've lived. The greenery here reminds me that nature is beautiful everywhere, just different, and I get the chance to feel truly immersed in nature here, something that is sometimes inhibited in other places.

8.jpgA Lock Cottage

There's usually a cottage at the top or bottom of a lock, with private occupants who are not affiliated with the Canal Network. In this one, there was a lovely elderly couple who came out to chat with us.
It must be great to live by the canals and watch dozens of boaters go by daily. That in itself would be entertainment for me.

7.jpg

A herd of cows came to hydrate by the lock and lingered for a while. Cows are inquisitive animals, so I was not surprised to see them observing.

7.jpg

It had been 7 hours of cruising with over a dozen locks, I was exhausted. We pulled over and moored up for another day, in a village called Kintbury, right by The Dundas Arms Pub.
The weather forecast promises a sunny Sunday, so it should be a great day to chug along to enjoy the last of the weekend.

I wish you all a slow and easy day:)



Written by Camille Forbush-23.jpg

This banner was created in Canva.


Click the arrows below to find both my communities; The Minimalist and Cinnamon Cup Coffee:)


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
39 Comments