The Party in Festival

Parties are enjoyed in different ways by different people. While some can't do without sipping beers, some see a party as a full party when there are lots of alcoholic beverages arranged on a table. Some embrace parties when they have enough mocktails. Just like myself, I don't really like sipping alcoholic drinks while partying because a little of it can take me to an unknown world. I prefer my party to be alcohol-free but at the same time fun and exciting.

Instead of joining for alcoholic drinks, I prefer taking soft beverages that keep my energy boosted and my body hydrated. There are so many of these kinds of drinks available that I can consume with their own unique tastes instead of opting for alcohol. I remember one of the parties I attended with my friends, and they all had bottles of beer in their hands, and they tried all they could to force me to take a sip, but I refused. For me, parties are not all about getting oneself high; I am more interested in getting my whole self aware of what is going on, vibing to the sound of the music.

Source

The last festival I attended was in 2022, which was the last time I had visited the village. I love festivals so much because they are culturally rooted. Watching all the cultural displays takes me straight to my roots and gets me socked to where I truly belong. During festivals, there are always a variety of drinks ranging from naturally processed drinks to other alcoholic beverages.

One of the things Igbos are known for is festivals; we have lots of festivals that give us the chance to come together as a community and celebrate our heritage. This celebration comes with lots of dancing, singing, cultural displays, and locally made delicacies. The yam festival is one festival I don't like missing anytime I travel home. I love traveling close to when it's the period.

This festive period is when we harvest all the yams and appreciate the gods of the land for yet granting us another plentiful harvest. During this time, we all gather in our chief's compound to celebrate. This time we get to see girls with beautiful legs giving out all the waist dance, different sounds of drums and highlife music fill the air, leaving us all to get our dresses soaked in dancing.

Source

The most interesting thing about this festival is the different types of traditional dishes made from the newly harvested yams. Different sacrifices are made to the gods of the land in all homes for blessing the land and making it yield bountifully. During this period, all families and communities unite and come together. Many eat and drink to stupor all in the spirit of celebration.

During this period, there are lots of beverages and food available for consumption. For celebrations such as this, I substitute beer for Palm wine. Knowing palm wine is a natural drink obtained from Palm trees makes it a good choice for me. Knowing that the main aim of celebrating the party is to promote our culture and take our minds back to our roots, I go to the rich taste of natural Palm wine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments