Inktober 2024, Day 11, 12, 13, 14: Snacks, Remote, Horizon, Roam

52.png

Two weeks of Inktober are complete! ^^

Holy Moly! Something happened these last few days! I went through all my Inktober works, as well as the ones from the previous years, and thought about what makes me feel more confident and what does not. I wrote down three notes for myself - ditch the boxy frame where it does not feel needed,scale up, and go bold with outlines.


I do not know if it was things I noted that made the difference or if some other connection happened in my brain, but I feel these last four shine just a tiny bit more! Maybe the rust finally cleared off of my artsy abilities. Whatever it is, I hope it is here to stay because it is so wonderful when stuff works out this way!

Day 11: Snacks

5.png

Sacks - Ink drawing, 21 x 16cm, Inktober 2024

As you probably already guessed, these are some of my favorite snacks. They are salmon nigiri, blueberries, sushi rolls, candy grapes, Fazer chocolate with raisins and hazelnut, Pistachio Mochi ice cream, teriyaki flavored beef jerky, raspberries, and cheeseballs! If you show up with one of these, I will be the happiest alien on the planet! ^^ I might even do a goofy, happy, snacky dance while nomming on those!

C1.png

Here, you can see a few stages of the process. I enjoyed creating these so much and they look more like something I could pick up off the paper! The highlights are highlighting and all that good stuff!

6.png

They look so happy, and the blue background probably has something to do with it! Here, enjoy some close-ups!

9.png

8.png

13.png

14.png

7.png

12.png


Day 12: Remote

21.png

Remote - Ink drawing, 21 x 16cm, Inktober 2024

On day 12, the theme was remote. And while this year Inktober seems to be about travel, hiking, and adventuring more, I am always looking for a way not to draw the first thing associated with each prompt. So yeah, no remote island or TV remote. Instead, it is a survey drone! This little buddy goes into places where the environment is too hostile for lifeforms of biological matter. Its purpose is to scout the area, collect data or even samples, and it can be operated manually remotely!

Since it did not need to be too stealthy, like surveillance drones, I used brighter colored inks for its design. And, if something wrong were to happen while out and about, brightly colored drones probably would be more suitable for the salvage teams to find for extraction. Ahaha!

C2.png

The blue ink made it less scary-looking as well. I would freak out if a plain steel version would show up suddenly! It would be a different vibe, for sure!

19.png

I shall name it EBud 01! All those spikes and things are probes for data collection.

23.png

24.png

25.png

22.png


Day 13: Horizon

34.png

Horizon - Ink drawing, 21 x 16cm, Inktober 2024

On day 13, we landed on the Moon again! The prompt was - horizon. I chose my horizon to be on the surface of the Moon. This was not my first crack at the Moon. In the past, I have painted a raccoon as a Moon, I sculpted a piece of the Moon's surface out of modeling clay, and it has come up in a few drawings, and a tiny painting before. However, so far this one is my favorite! I was having a blast with all the craters and adding the tiniest texture details! Can you tell? It seems moon-like. Right?

C3.png

32.png

36.png

The close-ups of some details.

37.png

35.png

33.png


Day 14: Roam

48.png

Roam - Ink drawing, 21 x 16cm, Inktober 2024

Finally, on day 14, the prompt was - roam. I spent some time wondering what to draw for it. But then wandering trees, treants from Dnd and HoMM, and ents from Lotr came to mind! Yep! That was it! While treants do not always seem to be portrayed as super friendly creatures, I decided that my treat would be this friendly, gentle forest being. He is happily roaming the forest with his bird friend away from the eyes of humans.

C4.png

At the start of this piece, I felt slightly uneasy. I worried if I was getting the features of the character right, but I reminded myself to trust the process. Soon enough, it all came together perfectly!

45.png

I love it! It turned out better than I could have ever wished for!^^ Hands down, it is my favorite thing I have ever created!

47.png

44.png

46.png

49.png

50.png

51.png

The last four days!

Tune in for the next batch in 3 days!

Song of the day: Linkin Park - QWERTY

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center