Natural remedies that work for me, do they work for you?

Beige Elegant Minimalist Travel Scrapbook Photo Collage (Portrait) (3).jpg

Growing up in a not well-off family from the countryside, we are all used to home remedies once sick. Back then, access to medicines was not that easy as, aside from being too far from pharmacies, my parents needed help to afford it. Buying one tablet feels like spending a fortune!

Yet, we aren't a robot that feels well all the time; sometimes, we get sick, so my Mother had a lot of those herbal plants depending on the sickness. One that I could still remember was the Oregano, which is the treatment for cough.

This is easy to plant and doesn't need much attention. Just get a stem old enough to be replanted, and boom. It will just grow until such time trim is needed.

These are oreganos currently planted in front of our house.

What is Oregano.

Only now that I paid attention, so I did some research on Google, and says;

  • It is a perennial herb that was native to Europe, Southern and Central Asia, and the Mediterranean region. With an English name of pot marjoram, a species from Origanum. Source

How to use it?

  • Get at least three pieces of young leaves. Wash thoroughly.

  • Then squeeze it to extract the liquid out from it.

How was the taste? It was so bitter that back when I was a child, holding my cough as much as possible had been my routine. It could be covering my mouth so my Mother won't hear me.

Thus, as I left home and stayed in the city where it wasn't available, I resorted to lemons.

image.png

Lemon + Ginger + Honey This is if I had much time, especially during the pandemic season. I would boil these three ingredients. (I couldn't show the procedure as I am not unwell 😂

image.png

Or simply add slices of lemon and honey into your tumbler glass and add water.

I am not sure if this works for you, but on mine, Yes, it is maybe since my body was used in natural remedy rather than those prescribed drugs.

What about you? Are you into home or natural remedies?

Hello to all ladies of Hive; it's been a while since I last participated in a weekly contest. This is my entry for LOH 201

When you're sick, what home remedy gets you back on your feet the quickest? Explain how it works

Lead image was edited using Canva
All photos are mine otherwise stated
Footer credit to Sensiblecast

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments