Needle Work Monday - The pink outfit was finally here: we won the race against time. / El outfit rosa finalmente estuvo aquí: ganamos la carrera contra el tiempo. 😅❤️

After a few days more than hectic, just today Monday I'm reviving a little. My family and I experience the stress that comes with organizing a massive birthday to celebrate my sister's 15th birthday, and although we were in a hurry until the last minute, luckily everything turned out beautifully and we had a great time at the party this Saturday. One of the things that had occurred to me at the last minute was to sew my own outfit for the party, and although my friend and I worked under pressure on this, we also had a great result ❤️.

Después de unos días más que agitados, recién hoy lunes estoy reviviendo un poco. Mi familia y yo vivimos el estrés que conlleva organizar un cumpleaños multitudinario para festejar los 15 años de mi hermana, y aunque estuvimos apurados hasta el último minuto, por suerte todo salió hermoso y lo pasamos muy bien en la fiesta de este sábado. Una de las cosas que se me habían ocurrido a último minuto fue coser mi propio traje para la fiesta, y aunque mi amiga y yo trabajamos bajo presión en esto, también tuvimos un resultado genial ❤️.

Needle Work Monday (18x12) (5).jpg


My original idea was to buy some ready-made dress because it seemed too difficult to make one from scratch, but then I came across a design on the internet that made me change my mind. This design was a separate lace top and long skirt, which made me think I could pull off something like that. I immediately contacted my friend You to ask her if she would be able to sew me a skirt like the one in the photo, and far from saying no because the party was only 20 days away, she was also enthusiastic about the project ❤️.

Mi idea original era comprar algún vestido ya hecho porque me parecía demasiado difícil hacer uno desde el principio, pero luego me crucé con un diseño en internet que me hizo cambiar de opinión. Este diseño era un top de encaje y una falda larga por separado, que me hizo pensar en que podía lograr algo así. Inmediatamente me comuniqué con mi amiga You para preguntarle si sería capaz de coserme una falda como la de la foto, y lejos de decirme que no porque solo faltaban 20 días para la fiesta, también se estusiasmó con la idea ❤️.

IMG_20221113_020556281.jpgIMG_20221113_020800469.jpg

One of the main problems was that in the middle of those 20 days I had an 11-day trip, so the time to work was reduced even more. With the little time we had before I left on my trip, we got together to buy the fabrics and do the corresponding molding tests. When I left, she stayed working on the skirt and when I came back I went to look for her. Then, I got to work with my top, sewing until dawn as is my custom. You can see the process of the skirt that she made here ❤️.

Uno de los principales problemas era que yo en el medio de esos 20 días tenía un viaje de 11 días, por lo que el tiempo para trabajar se reducía aún más. Con el poco tiempo que teníamos antes de que yo salga de viaje, nos juntamos para comprar las telas y hacer pruebas de moldería correspondientes. Cuando yo me fuí, ella quedó trabajando en la falda y cuando volví la fuí a buscar. Luego, yo puse manos a la obra con mi top, cosiendo hasta la madrugada como es mi costumbre. Pueden ver el proceso de la falda que ella hizo aquí ❤️.

IMG_20221113_020726108.jpg


Before I started making the top with the pink fabric, I had to make a black top to serve as a size test. I only did one top in my life and it was several months ago, so I wanted to repeat it in a test before. Once I saw that everything was in order, I started with the pink fabric. The main difference between a lingerie top and a t-shirt top is that the cups must be covered with an opaque fabric that covers the transparencies in this area 😀.

Antes de empezar a hacer el top con la tela rosada, tuve que hacer un top negro que sirviera como prueba del talle. Solo hice un top en mi vida y fue hace varios meses, así que quería repetirlo en una pruba antes. Una vez que vi que todo estaba en orden, comencé con la tela rosada. La principal diferencia entre un top lencero y un top-remera es que las copas deben estar cubiertas con una tela opaca que tape las transparencias de esta zona 😃.

IMG_20221110_022721772.jpgIMG_20221110_022814608.jpg

I had to do this very carefully since the fabric of the dress is a non-stretch fabric and the lace is. This difference creates wrinkles during sewing, so you have to be very careful if you want a neat result. Luckily the seamstress Laura at 3 AM did very well 😅.

Tuve que hacer esto con mucho cuidado ya que la tela del vestido es una tela no-elástica y la puntilla si lo es. Esta diferencia genera arrugas durante la costura, por lo que hay que ser muy cuidadoso si se desea un resultado prolijo. Por suerte la Laura costurera de las 3 AM lo hizo muy bien 😅.

IMG_20221110_024035919_MF_PORTRAIT.jpg
IMG_20221110_030018217.jpg


This was my first time sewing satin fabric and at first my machine refused to sew it, but after a few tweaks I had decent results. When I had the cups finished, it was time to sew the straps. For this I had to cut strips, iron them, then sew them and add them to the top. Sometimes it seems incredible to me that such a small garment takes so much work 😂.

Esta fue la primera vez que cosí tela de raso y al principio mi máquina se rehusaba a coserla, pero después de algunos ajustes tuve resultados decentes. Cuando tuve las tazas terminadas, fue el turno de coser los breteles. Para esto tuve que cortar tiras, plancharlas, luego coserlas y añadirlas al top. A veces me parece increíble que una prenda tan pequeña lleve tanto trabajo 😂.

IMG_20221110_033814724.jpg


Finally, this was the result. The size was just right and very comfortable. It was interesting to sew something in a color other than black, I'm sure I'll use this top in other outfits. What did you think? ❤️

Finalmente, este fue el resultado. El talle me quedó justo y muy cómodo. Fue interesante coser algo de otro color que no sea negro, estoy segura de que usaré este top en otros outfits. ¿Qué les pareció? ❤️

IMG_20221113_020737670.jpg


Once again I want to thank my friend @youyowi for helping me with this: when I sewed the fabric I realized that it was not easy at all (and I only sewed a few cm), so I really appreciate the patience she had to make it beautiful . I'm glad we're both in the sewing world so we can combine skills ❤️.

Una vez más quiero agradecer a mi amiga @youyowi por ayudarme con esto: cuando cosí la tela me dí cuenta de que no era nada fácil (y eso que solo cosí algunos cm), así que valoro mucho la paciencia que tuvo para que quede hermosa. Me alegra que ambas estemos en el mundo de la costura así podemos combinar habilidades ❤️.
IMG_20221113_020538861~2.jpgIMG_20221113_031319309.jpg

The one who also did an amazing sewing job was Adela, the seamstress who made my sister's dress. This costume consists of three pieces: a short dress, a sash and a detachable tulle skirt. This was so because my sister wanted a short dress but my mom wanted a princess dress, so they made a deal doing it that way. The dress was absolutely beautiful, and although the party is over, we still want to continue taking photos of it in the following days ❤️.

La que también hizo un asombroso trabajo de costura fue Adela, la modista que hizo el vestido de mi hermana. Este traje consta de tres piezas: un vestido corto, una faja y una falda de tul desmontable. Esto fue así porque mi hermana quería un vestido corto pero mi mamá quería un vestido de princesa, así que llegaron a un acuerdo haciéndolo así. El vestido quedó absolutamente hermoso, y aunque ya pasó la fiesta, aún tenemos ganas de seguir sacándole fotos en los siguientes días ❤️.
IMG_20221111_181731353.jpgIMG_20221111_181425546.jpg

We all work very hard to achieve this great birthday. It was months and months of work and effort of all kinds, mainly from my mother. My little sister is the most spoiled, and since neither my middle sister nor I had a 15th birthday party, we were all excited about this. Luckily we had a lot of people who accompanied us and helped us to make everything go nicely, and it did ❤️.

Todos trabajamos muchísimo para lograr este gran cumpleaños. Fueron meses y meses de trabajo y esfuerzo de todo tipo, principalmente de parte de mi mamá. Mi hermana menor es la más mimada, y como ni mi hermana del medio ni yo tuvimos fiesta de 15 años, todas estábamos emocionadas por esto. Por suerte tuvimos mucha gente que nos acompañó y nos ayudó para que todo salga lindo, y así fue ❤️.
IMG_20221113_004246190.jpgIMG_20221113_004248280.jpg

Now that it's all over, it's time to CLEAN haha. You can't imagine the mess that was left in my house after all the display for the celebration. Yesterday I was lying down all day resting because I was really exhausted, on Saturday I cycled several km going back and forth to carry things from my house to the living room and my legs took their toll. That everything went well and that my sister had fun at her celebration was the most beautiful reward, so it was all worth it ❤️.

Ahora que todo pasó, es tiempo de LIMPIAR jaja. No se imaginan el desorden que quedó en mi casa después de todo el despliegue para el festejo. Ayer estuve todo el día acostada descansando porque realmente me agoté, el sábado hice varios km en bicicleta yendo y viniendo para llevar cosas de mi casa hasta el salón y mis piernas me pasaron la factura. Que todo haya salido bien y que mi hermana se haya divertido en su festejo fue la recompensa más linda, así que todo valió la pena ❤️.


❤️ Hope you liked this post! Thanks for reading. ❤️

❤️¡Espero que les haya gustado este post! Gracias por leer. ❤️



IMG_20221113_225810_579.jpg


With lots of love. / Con mucho amor.
Lau 💕.


📸 Cover created with Canva. All the images are my property 💕.
📸 Portada creada en Canva. Todas las imágenes son de mi propiedad 💕.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
58 Comments
Ecency