Engagement is Hard!

image.png

Over the past 6 days, I made an initiative for myself to get more engaged on LeoFinance in the comments. After seeing @abh12345's latest LeoFinance Engagement post I realized that I really needed to step up my game and get engaged. Over the past year or so, I got more wrapped up in developing and building the team around LeoFinance than being engaged on LeoFinance.

While I need to keep my focus on building the team and overseeing all of the development, I don't want to lose sight of why this all started in the first place. I love being engaged in the comments, hearing critical feedback (with extra emphasis on the former word in cases like @edicted 😜) and taking all of the awareness that comes with being engaged and using it to better build the project.

Over the past 6 days in engaging more on LeoFinance.io, I've noticed a lot of things that went unchecked - both good and bad. I've already added a number of things to our team dashboard for us to prioritize and update.

In addition, I feel a better understanding of where everyone is at in the community. These weekly engagement competitions are just getting started. My return is more than just 1 week. You'll be seeing my comments around LeoFinance a lot more over the coming months and years.

This week, I said that anyone who beat me in Asher's next LeoFinance Engagement League post would win 100 LEO from me. All you need to do is rank higher in the weekly engagement table. Last week I was #22. We'll see where I land this week.

Engagement is Hard

One thing I've come to remember (quite quickly) is that engagement is hard! It's not easy to stay up-to-date on all the conversations happening here on LeoFinance. You might be having a conversation under one post and then start getting reply notifications to some other replies you had on another post.

When you're doing hundreds of comments per week, it can be difficult to stay up with all of them.

We have a pretty decent UI with the Reply tabs here on LeoFinance.io - @khaleelkazi/replies - that's where I've been spending most of my time finding replies and responding to them.

One of the things I've added to our team dashboard is a better comment reply UI.

We can build something that ties in comments much easier and allows everyone - especially the taskmaster's of the world - to organize and reply to comments from a seamless UI experience.

The other thing I would love to add is a real-time engagement leaderboard page on LeoFinance.io. This would show similar stats to Asher's posts and we could all see each other rank in real time. The gamification this brings is really incredible to think about and with LeoLegends NFTs on the horizon, I have a feeling we could tie some cool NFT features into the weekly rankings of top engagement.

The Threads idea that I've had in the past seems more important now than ever after spending the past week engaged in the comments. I think we can do something really cool when we combine threads and community pages. More on that later.

Will You Beat Me This Week?

This week there is 100 LEO up for grabs by anyone who ranks above me in Asher's post. I think you have about 24 hours left until he puts up the next engagement post. If 10 people rank above me, I'll be handing out 1,000 LEO.

I did this to keep myself accountable. I've been wanting to be engaged in the comments on LeoFinance for a long time now but I have been lazy in getting back to it. Getting sucked in by a development issue often makes me not want to do anything other than focus on that.

With the team expanding, I'm learning how to delegate that work a lot better. We are a lot more organized in identifying problems and working on solutions as a team which is a hell of a lot better than our old processes.

This week is a test of my engagement and I have a feeling that we're going to see some pretty explosive numbers in terms of comments this week. All of this is feeding really nicely into the growth of LeoFinance. We need to keep up with this engagement each week, so I'll be releasing competitions every single week to beat me in engagement.

AskLeo: How do you feel about engagement? In what ways do you think you can engage better? Do you think there's anything we can do to make engaging more... engaging?

Leave a comment below...

so I can get a bunch of replies in!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center