Exploring a really long beach (Makrygialos Beach in Crete)

A couple of weeks ago, I did my first holidays in a while.

I visited a place where I had not been in many years, and I was more than happy to be there and to write about it now!

The place - Makrygialos in South Crete.
Its names stands for Long Beach

I will separate this post in 2 parts, because as I understand there are 3 parts in this place. The touristic part (one that I visited) - it has small apartments and a few restaurants, bars

  • The main village, which I did not have the time to visit

  • And the Eastern part which has the luxury hotels and Villas and is full of restaurants and beach bars.

First of all..

The place I stayed was small but at a perfect spot. You should go down a steep road, but then you were directly at the beach!

It also had a huge pink bougainvillea that I could not photograph enough!

IMG_8575.jpegIMG_8574.jpeg

I enjoyed the morning sun, just before I hit the beach!

IMG_8576.jpeg

I found many picturesque spots. I liked the fact that everything was in blue and white - you feel relaxed the moment you see them.

IMG_8577.jpeg

Makrygialos is also known as Makry Gialos or Makrigialos, It is a charming coastal village located in the southeastern part of Crete, in the Lasithi region.

This picturesque town is nestled along the Libyan Sea and is approximately 25 kilometers east of Ierapetra and 120 kilometers southeast of Heraklion, Crete’s capital. This place offers a tranquil and relaxed atmosphere, and the atmosphere is ideal for the ones who are traveling for a peaceful holiday.

This boat was right next to the beach we would go, and next to a restaurant (that I did not have the chance to try)

IMG_8579.jpeg

The beach is long and .. sandy! You could find a few rocks, but they did not bother me at all.

IMG_8643.jpeg

Makrygialos has a stunning 1,200-meter-long sandy and crystal clear beach, not so deep. The beach is well-maintained and provides amenities such as sunbeds, umbrellas, nearby tavernas and watersports. The village itself has retained its traditional charm, with narrow streets, whitewashed houses, and friendly locals who welcome tourists with warm hospitality.

IMG_8580.jpeg

Everywhere you look, beach is so close!

IMG_8581.jpeg

Little details can make a difference :)

IMG_8582.jpeg

Beautiful rock out of the water (i was sad, but I did take a photo)

IMG_8583.jpegIMG_8585.jpeg

Group Therapy Practiced here : )

IMG_8588.jpeg

And .. a close up of the B E A C H !

IMG_8594.jpeg

I was surprised to see tamarisk trees in the sand.. I am not sure if they were alive or not, but look at them!

IMG_8623.jpegIMG_8625.jpeg

The beach and the sunbeds

IMG_8634.jpegIMG_8641.jpeg

Details in a house and a random baby swimming

IMG_8652.jpegIMG_8650.jpeg

In addition to its beautiful beach, Makrygialos can be a base for exploring the surrounding south area of the island.

It offers a perfect blend of natural beauty, cultural heritage, and a relaxed pace of life.

It was the only beach where I found flying fish! And you can read more here:
@katerinaramm/flying-fish-in-my-beach--7bs

More info:

Thank you for your support, I hope you enjoyed the photos!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments