Calgary Zoo

Hello! Today I want to show you a few photos from the Calgary Zoo I visited last weekend. It was a really sunny and hot day which was perfect for walking outside.

DSC_1674.JPG

I saw most of the animals that the Zoo has. Unfortunately, I could not spot a few of them because they were hiding in the bushes and shades. Many of them were also taking a nap as you will see below.

DSC_1533.JPG

The whole Zoo is Panda themed since pandas were brought to Calgary earlier this year. This was my main reason to go there as I never saw pandas live.

DSC_1536.JPG

Penguins were the first animals I saw as they are located close to the entrance. They were waiting on their food so they were behaving extremely good.

DSC_1539.JPG

DSC_1565.JPG

Next were the camels. One was hiding behind the trees and the baby one was resting in the shade.

DSC_1564.JPG

Next up was the flamingo garden. So pretty.

DSC_1568.JPG

Gorillas have a pretty neat living space although it can not compare to the freedom of the wildlife of remote lowland tropical forests of Africa. They are critically endangered species according to IUCN - International Union for Conservation of Nature.

DSC_1569.JPG

DSC_1570.JPG

DSC_1573.JPG

Here are some photos of the Slender-Tailed Meerkats. They were very fun to watch as they played a lot. They seem to be very sociable pack.

DSC_1576.JPG

Less fun were Crested Porcupines from Africa. They must have just been fed and were taking a nap.

DSC_1580.JPG

DSC_1588.JPG

Giraffes drew a lot of attention as they are so tall and pretty. Thankfully they were not asleep and I had time observing them.

DSC_1589.JPG

The message above was not necessary as hippos were cooling themselves on the cold sand.

DSC_1592.JPG

Lions were also resting and I don't blame them at all. It must be pretty hot underneath all the fur.

DSC_1594.JPG

DSC_1596.JPG

Zebras don't care, they are ready for any weather with their black and white colors. They are smaller than I thought.

DSC_1601.JPG

Lemurs were hiding in their little houses. The Land of Lemurs as their home is called is very nicely organized. It is a new 1.3-acre feature that allows visitors to enter the lemurs’ world in a barrier-free setting. You can read more about it here.

DSC_1602.JPG

I also saw an ostrich. It is the largest bird on earth. Although I am not a big fan of birds seeing them from such distance made me feel very humble.

DSC_1609.JPG

Next was this orange fellow. He was just playing with the toy.

DSC_1611.JPG

DSC_1622.JPG

This one was hiding behind the roots. It would be hard to notice it in the wilderness. Komodo Dragon is the largest lizard. I was glad there was glass between us.

DSC_1625.JPG

Then I visited the Panda Passage. It opened in May and has been visited in large numbers since.

DSC_1633.JPG

Then it was time to see some kitties. The photo above is that of sleeping snow leopards and below photos of Siberian tigers.

DSC_1638.JPG

DSC_1643.JPG

This curious Japanese Macaque decided to climb all the way up and try to catch the bird on the outside of the fence. It was unlucky.

DSC_1656.JPG

DSC_1657.JPG

Further on I noticed lamas. They seemed to be freshly shaven for the short summer.

DSC_1666.JPG

Then I entered the more tropical environment. Fish first.

DSC_1667.JPG

Here is one for turtle lovers.

DSC_1683.JPG

Next one was Mandrill. What a colorful face. No make-up needed for this one.

DSC_1686.JPG

I enjoyed my time at the Calgary Zoo. I took many more photos and will have nice memories for a long time. Until the next time.

Have a lovely day everyone :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now