Teardrop In Time | A Mixed Media Art Project

Apophysis-TeardropNTime.jpg

A faint dab of mist brushed Vallyna's blue-gray steel cheek. Her sockets switched back and forth until the balls identified the foreign object. The arm attached to her mid-section instead of her shoulder reached out and attempted to respond to the stimuli.

She wasn't scheduled to be activated until the next day.

"How could she know the action required if she were not yet activated?" The technician stammered, then nudged his partner before noting the incident in his ledger.

"I don't know, and I didn't see that. Probably a knee-jerk reaction remaining from the memory implant transfer," she responded.

They both agreed, locked up for the night and clocked out.

Vallyna sat upright slowly, scanned the clinic's security features, then slid from the table.

She paused at the workbench. Two oval shaped eye guards lay next to several arms. She quickly scanned the guards and attached them to her sockets.

Opening the laboratory door, she disarmed the alarm system, then walked purposefully toward the exit.

262866.png

For my current mixed media art project, I wanted to portray a humanoid that unexpectedly responds to water that touches her armor. She's not yet activated, so this shouldn't happen. She then escapes the clinic where she is assembled.

I first called upon a stable diffusion program, StarryAI, to render an image from a text description of only a few words, "single teardrop".

What I received was a beautiful female image that looks as if she is encased in a uniform. But what I loved about the image was that in the left eye, it looked as if a clock's hands are moving. I feel that in my description of teardrop the "time" was used as a reflection in the eye socket.

Below are my steps:

StarryAI Text Input:
"Single teardrop."

Style: Fantasy
Iterations: 50
Seed: 8064404013

StarryAI Results:

StarryAI-SingleTeardrop-Image3-1.webp

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

I returned to StarryAI for additional stable diffusion images. This time I needed a partial background that would blend in with the humanoid's color. What I did was to request in the text description water in the form of the sea with ripples.

My next stable diffusion image I wanted to represent an item from the humanoid's memory.

The images I retrieved were awesome to work with. I enjoy working with StarryAI as a stable diffusion program. The site is also easy to navigate.

Below are the two images that were produced.

StarryAI Text Input:
"No face horns only fantasy highly detailed huge ram's round curved horns lying down tilted upward."

Style: Fantasy
Iterations: 50
Seed: 3319185494

StarryAI Result:
StarryAI-NoFaceHornsOnly-Image4.webp

StarryAI Text Input:
"Light blue sea quid scroll, long, thin flowing and stringy mixed with a touch of sea sponge."

Style: Fantasy
Iterations: 50
Seed: 477262290

StarryAI Result:

StarryAI-LightBlueSeaZSquid-Image4-1.webp

262866.png

I added only one other image. Water droplets represented tears that I applied to the face.
Water drops

262866.png

I then utilized Canva to blend the different type images. Below are my steps in which I begin with a blank, white canvas, then added layers of elements, removing backgrounds, resizing, and repositioning items as needed.

Step 1Step 2Step 3Step 4
To a blank, white canvas, I added the stable diffusion female android image.Resized android; then duplicated portions of the image to fill the screen.Added the ocean stable diffusion image.Colorized ocean image to match android. Duplicated and inserted parts into different sized frames.
image.pngimage.pngimage.pngimage.png

Step 5Step 6Step 7
Added the water image and positioned to resemble a teardrop on the face.Added the horned goat stable diffusion image.Removed goat's background. Positioned on android's neck. Completed project.
image.pngimage.pngimage.png

262866.png

I share with you my completed mixed media art project:

Apophysis-TeardropNTime.jpg

262866.png

Thanks for taking the time to view my post. I hope you like my mixed media art project.

262866.png

Good luck everyone with whatever your endeavors.

SaturdaySaversClubNewBanner.png

justclickindiva-butterfly.png

SOURCES:
a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines
f) Thumbnail Image created by me in Canva.
g) "Flames." What is Apophysis 2.09. https://flam3.com/

1 What is Stable Diffusion? StarryAI.Com. Online at: https://starryai.com/stable-diffusion

262866.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now