NEEDLEWORKMONDAY WIP CHALLENGE | WIP# 1 (A Finished Project)

Last week, I was able to pull out and present to you some of my WIPs that I categorized as level 1. You may check my previous post as to how I come up with categorizing them by levels.😅 In that post, I place several WIPs that I was hoping to finish until this 2-month challenge is over. I didn't number them according to which I would work first since I wasn't decided yet at that time.

And when I was about to choose, I noticed their colors. And I love those autumn-inspired colors that was rich, warm, and earthy.

So I took the unfinished skirt and grab my wand, I mean my 2.5mm crochet hook to continue some magic.

But before I could continue with the skirt, I noticed that it was not as wide as I dreamed of or imagined. So I'm thinking of undoing it and starting all over again. But when I'm done pulling the rust-colored yarn, leaving the brown-colored stitches still intact, I realized that I could expand its wideness by increasing the number of stitches on the 2nd color, which is rust.

By the way, this project is meant for me. Funny how I create beautiful stuff to be worn by others but for me? Nah, I can't remember I made something for myself except the small sling bag I'm using every time I went to the market.😅 What I mean is that I always make a crocheted top, crop top, short, skirt, or any kind of outfit for others but never tried creating for myself.

So this was how it looked after redoing and increasing the number of stitches on the rust color. And I'm glad about the result so I continued with the next color, orange, and do the same approach.

And while I'm doing this skirt, I was thinking and a little bit worried about still not having an order from customers. I think 2 weeks already that I received none. But then, I considered this time to improve my skills and do what I wanted to create. So I continued.

As you have noticed on the left picture, after doing the 3rd color which is orange, I choose another shade of orange as the 4th color. But I didn't like it since it was still an orange shade closer to the 3rd color. Undoing it was easy, as you have to pull the string as fast as you can. Just don't mind the effort and time you exerted on that mistake but the idea to improve your project is your main goal here. So I choose another color that looks like mustard or golden yellow, still increasing the number of stitches to make it wider.

And the longer the skirt becomes, the more yarns I used as I keep on increasing every color.

Then lastly I chose light brown-colored yarn to finish my skirt. All in all, it measures 28-29 inches long.

Finally, I have made my own crocheted skirt now and I feel great looking at it. I'm loving it. 🥰 And was thinking of making another one, but I'm considering choosing only one color next time.

But wait, there's still more. While I was taking some decent pictures with my long crocheted skirt, an idea popped into my mind. 😅 It looks like this long skirt can also be made into a sexy dress, isn't it?

So I quickly made a long string compost of chains and single crochet and inserted it on the waist section of the dress. And voila! 😍

A sexy haltered dress was formed! Wow, I never imagined it from the start but I'm glad it came out unexpectedly. So whenever I wanted to wear it as a long skirt, I will just pull that string off the waist area and put it back when I wanted to wear it on a beach as a dress.

Conclusion: Always strive for the best. Don't settle on things that you thought you're just wasting your time and effort undoing things. Consider those mistakes as the best experience to improve more. Crafters, our goal here is to create beautiful projects despite the mistakes that we had encountered. Those mistakes aren't useless but a stepping stone to greatness.

One down, more wips to go. Good luck to all the crafters out there who participate in the WIP challenge.

Hope to inspire even one soul with today's post. God bless everyone. And stay safe.

Love lots,
@jonalyn2020

*All pictures are taken by me.


Shopee

Facebook

Facebook Page

Instagram

To God Be The Glory



k75bsZMwYNtze9xHvT6xWCdz7q3QGD35ZKdaPpVrFksWkDKsVMpaxn2jEBV2zTYxZfqBAyqtyxtUF5Hfvs6v4SB1hKXQLzyWAkRCvXaYmco87hxtdHagVZWuvx7je1RqNnd9Qn3roFxcYhCBKyUR1YJMTuJvngRWn.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center