Your passport is your access to the world

My first encounter with the Nigerian Immigration Services (NIS) was in 2009, when I needed to process my international passport ID card for an examination I was preparing for. I was lucky to have my dad follow me to the office, and I was able to bypass the troubles an average Nigerian would face. Obtaining an international passport in Nigeria is a herculean task. The officers collect money that is exceedingly above what is needed for registration. The faster you need your passport, the more money will be charged.

IMAGE CREDIT


Thus, when my international passport expired in 2013, I did not bother to renew, probably because I was not expecting any reason to travel outside of Nigeria. The narrative, however, changed early this year when the minister for interior, Tunji Ojo, ordered for passports to be processed online and at the comfort of our homes. I jumped at that opportunity before another rule was added. Rather than the ₦45, 000 to ₦85, 000 charged by officers, I made an online payment of ₦36, 400 (bank charges inclusive), and in less than seven weeks, I got my international passport renewed. However, having one or two officers in the organization helped me know when the passport was ready. My conclusion was that the system for a free and fair application of the international passport is feasible, but only if the people will allow it.


I helped another lady process her international passport just the way I did mine. Hers was a fresh application, and within two months, she got her passport as well. My reason for renewal is simple: 'luck meets those who are prepared for it'.


PASSPORT

A passport identifies or attaches an individual to a group, community, or society. It gives a sense of association and belonging to a set of people. Passports can serve as gateways for access to countries and even job opportunities. I believe every individual should belong to a set or, at the very least, have a nationality. This is also essential for data capture in every nation.


1713970522182.jpg

IMAGE CREDIT IS MINE

IDENTITY VERIFICATION

The international passport, as an example, has embedded chips where sensitive data can easily be retrieved. The special number, which is limited and specific to an individual, is a prerequisite for certain processes and applications.


IMMIGRATION

This involves the movement of people from one country into another, usually for the purpose of settling down. People would always migrate for intercultural needs such as jobs, marriages, etc. I don't want to imagine a world where everyone is limited to their countries of origin. How would nations be able to share ideas or knowledge? Every nation and continent is bound by borders, and the check put in place for verification is via an individual's passport. Thus, having a passport is crucial for immigration or travel. Occasionally, some countries do grant nationalities to people from other countries, which is often as a result of a long-standing residential stay or by virtue of the birth of an individual. These measures help to foster relationships and intercultural practices.


Immigration should be regulated as much as it is encouraged for intercultural practices and benefits. The world would improve when people of different nations shared ideas, knowledge, and information with one another.


Here is my entry into #aprilinleo monthly and daily prompts. You can participate via this LINK


Thank you for reading. I would love to have your comments and contributions.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now