My White Elephant:An object of sentimental value.

Looking around my home, I'm surrounded by objects that serve a purpose or bring me joy. But, there's one object that stands out - a white elephant that's been collecting dust for years. It's a mirror, passed down from my grandfather, and I'm still holding on to it despite having no use for it. Its actually something that's very big and turning everytime to use it is stressful. The question should be what is it doing in your home if there's no need of it. Why not give it out or better still move it away? You'll soon find out.

The Object:
The mirror is a beautiful designed piece. But firstly, it's not my style, it's old fashioned and it doesn't fit with my home decor, house fittings and furniture. I have something more lovely and fits my home compared to the one given. It's has just been there gathering dust, for as long as I can remember.

source

The Story:
My grandad was given the mirror as a gift when he was leaving Cameroon finally be after a lot to return to Nigeria. He took care of the mirror as an egg. Before he passed on, he called my dad and I and said he wanted to give the mirror to me, specifically for being the only grandchild closer to him. My dad kept it safe until I was of the age to handle delicate things like the mirror.

source

Why I'm Holding On:
I know I'll be asked why the mirror. I have been asked this question alot of times to know why I am keeps a thing that has not been of any use to me. Yes , because it reminds me of the memories and the love we shared while he was alive. The mirror, It's a strong connection to my family's history and a reminder of the importance of love and relationships.

The Conflict:
It holds a sentimental value, but it's taking up the little space in my house and its not been used for any practical purpose at all. I have thought about giving it out or trying another option but I can't just let go.

source

The mirror may be a white elephant, but it's a reminder of the love and stories that has put my life in shape. I'll continue to hold on to it, even if it's just a symbol of my family's history. Definitely one day I know I'll be able to place it well and display it out to everyone, but till then and for now, it'll remain something precious to keep. There's actually a struggle between holding on to sentimental value and letting go of something that no longer serves a purpose.

Thank you for stopping by
Best wishes ❤️
@imaima

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center