How Can We be More Tolerant Towards Other Cultural Diversity?

Unsplash
Diversification is very important in our life, not only in business. As human beings we need to learn how to diversify when a situation is not palatable.
In my own concept, diversity means the ability to change for the better in an environment. For instance, there was a time when the crypto market was really down; I was told by my friend to diversify my assets to a stable coin to prevent too much loss in my assets. Those that diversify their assets prevented too much loss, while those that did not diversify their assets lost more.
In addition, diversification is the process of maintaining an adaptable environment for yourself, or assets of properties.

In the journey of life, diversification is very important: we can only predict how the journey will be, we may not be able to predict the obstacles in the way. But the moment we see that the road is not clear, we may diversify, i.e. finding alternatives.
Tolerance is the ability to endure a situation. Tolerance allowed people to co-exist and live with others in harmony and joy without dispute. It allows people from different cultural backgrounds and religions to interact with each other.
In Nigeria, there are over 250 ethnic groups and over 500 native languages. We tolerate each other, and that is the reason we could live on the same roof. There are three apartments in my compound, and we the tenants do not belong to one ethnic group; we all have different ethnic groups, yet, we live together with love, joy and harmony. Not that my neighbours have not offended me before, they have offended me; there were cases where I did not tell them of their offenses. I continued living my life and playing with them as if they did not offend me. I never for once get angry with them because of the offenses.

My country is one of the countries with the largest ethnic groups in the world. Yet, we love together in unity.

How Can We be More Tolerant Towards Other Cultural Diversity?
Pay Close Attention to Your Behaviour
You have to be sincere with yourself, and value other cultures around you. When I was living with Fulanis, I embraced their religion and culture; I participated in some activities derived from their culture and religion. Despite the fact that I was Christian, and 96% of Fulanis are Muslims, I was able to flow with them.
I’m no longer in the place, we separated 7 years ago, but we called and chatted by ourselves.
Therefore, for someone to be tolerant of others' cultural diversity, he/she needs to pay close attention to him/herself and check that maybe he can tolerate everything about them.

Education
If you learn the cultures and religions of different people, you may accept them. My friends that studied history and international study ended up marrying the cultures she hated most. The culture became her favorite culture! Right now, she has two kids for the man.

Understanding other peoples’ culture can make you tolerant of their lifestyles just like my friend.
Love
If you love them, you will love everything about them.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center