Preserving this moment just for me.

Today's post is for me. I am going to write it quickly and enjoy every second of it. Although I do hope that some people will actually read it and get something out of it, even if no one every sees this, I will be satisfied.

The title sucks.

The pictures will be less meaningful.

And I don't care.





A few months ago I wrote about the power of this platform to encourage people to journal about themselves and important events. In addition, because it is on the blockchain, these journals will be preserved forever. Which is nice because I never want to forget how I felt earlier this week.

For the past four years, my daughter MJ has been performing in our local park distrct's theater program. The group puts on very high quality "junior" versions of musicals like Beauty and the Beast, Shrek, and Grease. Because my daughter is so shy in public, we were shocked she wanted to try this. We were even more shocked when she loved it.

She has always been a kid who does not want the spotlight. She just enjoys being part of the cast. She learns every song and every character's lines (although she never gets any of her own). She is always a member of the ensemble. This means her characters never have names. She plays trees, fish and bakers. And she LOVES it! It is low pressure and high fun. Perfect!




Not my daughter's company. But it is close.

But now that she has several plays under her belt, she is ready to take the next step and actually speak in a play. Apparently, the directors of the shows recognize this growth as well.

Last week, she tried out for the play.

This week she was informed she had made the cast once again (it is actually quite popular so half the kids do not make it).

She found out while at school. When she returned home, she rushed through the door and yelled, "I got a part and my character has a name!!!!"

She was beaming.

So was I.

But that is not where this story ends. Although this news and her reaction made my week, my son's reaction made my year.

My son Timmy is 13. He is a great kid and is especially wonderful to his younger cousins. He is very kind and caring with all of them. He is the kind of kid you want at a family party. He will entertain the little ones and make sure they are safe and having fun. He has a real talent for making younger kids happy... except for his little sister.

Timmy and MJ often argue. It is what siblings do. There is rivalry for the spotlight in the home. Sometimes one wants to tear the other down in order to have that spotlight to themselves. Although it is not as bad as it was with my sister when I was younger, it still isn't great.




Actual photo of my sister and me fighting when we were kids...kidding but it was close.

I was sitting by my computer when Timmy came home that day. His sister gave him the great news. I braced myself for Timmy to say something like, "Oh you only have a couple of lines." Or "Big deal. You aren't the lead." Or even "Who cares?"

I stood up and began to make my way to the living room so I could intervene if MJ decided to kill him. I stayed out of eyeshot but not out of earshot.

Then Timmy said, "That is awesome! You got a name! That is so cool! Will you get a line? I remember in that one play you got to yell 'Kippered Smelt'. Who are you playing?"

He genuinely cared.

He built up his little sister.

It was freaking awesome!

I know we have some very "interesting" teenage years coming up. That is why it is essential that I write this down and never forget how happy I was in that moment.

Images 1, 2, 3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now