Passion On A Plate...

Food is a lot of things for me beyond just filling my belly whenever I am hungry, and it's one of the reasons why I enjoy preparing my food. Somehow, I have developed so much passion for cooking, and there is a different level of satisfaction I derive from eating something I prepared myself.

It's been almost two decades since I learned how to combine food ingredients to make something edible, and doing this thing repeatedly since then has made me embrace preparing my meal. I am definitely not against purchasing food from vendors, eateries, and others because everyone can't do things the same way.


The habit of cooking or eating out is always influenced by some factors, so thinking negatively about people who don't do things the way we think is right is not a good habit. Everyone has the right to make the choice that suits them, and I respect that as long as their choice isn't at the detriment of other humans.

One of the things that made cooking my meal a habit was that purchasing food was never a thing for my family, and it became a habit even when I lived separately from them. My mom always tried to cook because it was cheaper and more satisfying since her kids are all boys, and we ate a lot then. No matter how small the money was, my mom always knew what to cook, and I learned that from her.

Managing resources, especially with cooking, helped a lot as a student. It did when I didn't have a job, and I still manage resources today. I am familiar with the price of things, so whenever I see the price of food from vendors, the first thing that comes to mind is the price of the ingredients, and in the end, I always say, "It's not worth it."

Sometimes last year, I went to my friend place, who insisted that we visit a local canteen in his neighborhood, and upon getting there, I wasn't impressed. They sold their fish for almost $1, and the size is just 1/4 of the whole fish, whereas the fish cost just $2/kilo. I checked around to see exactly why the food was so expensive, and there was nothing to point out, so I refused to eat.

We eventually went to a grocery store, where I got two cans of Desperado and cookies. At that restaurant, I would have conveniently eaten a meal for $6, which would make a pot of soup for me.

I have been told that I don't know how to enjoy life, but that's cool with me. If what I eat in my house isn't enjoyable, so be it, and since it pleases me, I don't have any issue with what anyone thinks.

Another reason why I enjoy cooking is because I find it fun. Many times, I have heard people talk about how stressful cooking can be, but it's the other way around for me.

Aside from music, movies, games, and spending time with my family, cooking is a leisure activity for me. It helps me relieve stress, disconnect from my trouble or whatever is happening around me, and I feel refreshed after. Fast food, on the other hand, doesn't offer me any of these. The food might be pleasant to the eyes and delicious, but it all ends with filling my belly and nothing more.

Finally, is how hygienic these fast food restaurants are because many vendors don't care about hygiene and they just want to make profit. They prepare these foods anyhow without minding how they affect their customers, and they even sell them at outrageous prices.

There was a time people shared videos of shitty things many food vendors do, and I was very annoyed; I couldn't think of myself eating such food. Cooking my food guarantees hygiene, and I can make the food whichever way it pleases me.


Cooking my food isn't about the lack of money to eat out, and like I mentioned earlier, it's a decision I made for some reasons.

During those days when I worked with a company, I woke up as early as 5:30 a.m. to prepare my meal. It can be just noodles or fried eggs on mornings when I don't have enough time to make proper food. After cooking, I put my food in a flask and head out to work.

My colleagues tease me about the habit, but it's okay because I get to save money by cooking myself. At night, I always prepared my meal, even though it might not be something I really wanted. The fact remains that I am used to making my meal, and not doing it makes the meal somehow incomplete.

Whenever my wife insists on cooking, I still choose to spend time in the kitchen since there is always something I could help with. Being part of the process is something I cherish, and it makes those meals more satisfying.

This doesn't mean I don't patronize fast food, but it rarely happens, and not with my family, because they will definitely turn it down. It's a complete waste of money for them. Most times, my friends insist, or probably I just want to hang out with my sweetheart, and munching something is inevitable.

I don't know what the future holds for me, but a time might come when there will be a lot to do, and squeezing time out to cook might be difficult. Instead of depending on fast food, I have a woman who is capable of making me delicious and healthy meals.

I trust she won't let me do fast food because we share the same perspective about homemade food.


All food image were prepared by me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center