One Year, One Bagpack - A Minimalist Travel.

I find this week's kiss prompt very interesting because living out in a bag for a long time is something I have always imagined, and it's something I would love to try out someday. Mentally, I am prepared for such an adventure, even though I can't tell how much I will be able to cope, and it's just a matter of time before I embark on that challenge.

I had a few experiences many years ago, but they actually lasted for a few days, which isn't much of a big deal. Back then, I attended church camps and retreats for three or five days max, and my stuff was always packed in one bag because I loved to travel as light as possible. My only issue then was sharing space with a lot of people, but depending on what's in my bag wasn't a problem for me.

Practising this habit once in a while is quite a reminder that we don't need things in excess to live comfortably.

Going a whole year depending on what can fit into my bagpack might be challenging, but it's not impossible. Naturally, I am someone who loves to manage resources, even when I have them in excess, and that should give me an edge out there. If I really wanted to live out in my bagpack, I could, and below is the list of items you will find in my bagpack because they are very mandatory.


I stumbled on a bagpack online that has a portable solar system built-in that can be used to charge small devices, so this kind of bag will be a perfect choice for me since I wouldn't have to worry about the availability of electricity.

I wouldn't want to say that I am obsessed with my gadgets, but they have become part of me, and it's just impossible to travel without them. My smartphone is a must, but my PC is optional since it's heavy and would occupy space and add weight to my bag. I need my smartphone to communicate, know what's happening around the world as I travel solo, and most importantly, I need to capture a lot of beautiful moments to keep as memories.

I will be depending on my smartphone for entertainment; it's a good thing I can access movies, music, and books online.

My smartphone charger is necessary to charge my device, and a portable power bank serves as backup. I will also have my earpiece since a day wouldn't end without music for me. A torchlight won't be left out, and it will be rechargeable, so I can save myself from buying batteries from time to time.

For my utensil, I will have a plastic cup, a small table knife, one ceramic plate, and a spoon. With these things, I can eat cereal and other simple meals at my convenience.

A water bottle and takeaway plastic will be taken for refills, and I can use the takeaway to store my leftovers.


My clothing will consist of two pairs of socks, just in case I find myself in an environment that warrants it. I will have three pairs of shirts and pants, three underwears, a face cap, and a towel.

All these clothes are going to be made of light materials, so washing and drying them won't take much time, especially on rainy days. Just one pair of rubber slippers and sneakers is enough; the slippers will do most of the job, and the sneakers will just be occasional.


My toiletries will be in small quantities since I can replace any of the stuff in my bag if there is a need for it.

I will have a tissue, toothpaste and brush, perfume, deodorant, sponge, and antiseptic soap, plus detergent for washing my clothes.

I will carry some IDs and some small cash. I will always have my debit card to purchase items, as traveling with lots of cash can be dangerous. Painkillers and antibiotics wouldn't be left out in case there was a need for them as well.

While living out of my bag, I have to be eco-friendly because it's pointless living on that less and causing harm to the ecosystem. The chances of generating lots of waste are high, so I will ensure that I purchase eco-friendly products, shop at thrift stores where there is need, and most importantly, give out items in my bag instead of just throwing them away.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center