Where?

-.jpg

It's a vague question that could relate to anything and depending on what could be answered differently however it's a question I was asked a few days ago, and I'll be honest, it was really difficult to answer. Where has been your favourite outdoor destination in all your travels and where would you go back to? Yeah, that's not something I could answer easily because there's been so many and each has their own unique attractions.



I've travelled extensively and been to so many amazing places so answering that question with only one answer seems an exercise in futility. There's so many different options to sift through although I believe I can narrow it down to a single theme and that is natural places.

This doesn't mean I don't like visiting cities and all they hold, it's just that I feel more alive I suppose, more connected to the world around me that sustains my life, when I'm in natural places. I gravitate towards such places no matter what country I'm in...it's nature that draws me in.

One of those places I felt most comfortable was the South Island of New Zealand. This doesn't mean it was my favourite place, just that I felt really comfortable and happy there, found sparsely populated wide open spaces - only one quarter of the five million people in the country live on the south island - fresh air, amazing views and peace and quiet. Would I go back? Yes, I would and I will! I think something that draws me there also is that it's only about six hours by air from where I live in Australia and that I speak their language (English) except without the weird accent they have - If you've been there you'll know what I'm talking about.

So, I'd not go as far as saying it's my absolute favourite place but it's right up there...with so many other places and I'll go back there, just like I'll go back to other places as well. I'm also not saying that I don't love visiting cities because I do, but places like this are special and they make me feel small in comparison to the world around me and I love that.


What about you? Where is the best country or location you've been to in which you found an amazing natural place, felt small but connected to the planet and would go back to? Feel free to comment if you'd like to.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

Want a free Hive account? Click Here

[Original and AI free]
Image(s) in this post are my own

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
40 Comments