Consistency Is ONE Key! Happy Hive Power Up Day!

There is this saying "Consistency is key"...

I always had an issue with the way it was worded because it could be misinterpreted.

It doesn't say "Consistency is the key" or "Consistency is a key", for example. So, what are you to understand? Is it the only key? Or is it one of the keys?

I believe that anyone who has applied consistency correctly knows it is only one of the keys, certainly not the only one.

Unfortunately, consistency can be applied incorrectly too, in which case it has negative consequences.

What do you think... If someone consistently watches TV many hours every day, does that help or is it detrimental? It's true, it matters what they watch too, and it matters if that's a music channel in the background while they work or they are glued to the screen and don't do anything else all day long.

There is another way in which consistency can hurt. If this routine prevents someone from evolving, from learning and experimenting new things, it's again something not desirable.

If, on the other hand, it is applied in order to achieve something like financial or health goals, consistency really helps. That is because it leads to the compounding effect, which takes a while before it shows its first results, and the longer it goes the more impressive the snowball gets.

A bad plan consistently applied can lead to bad results though. That's why, results need to be evaluated from time to time, to see if you are going in the right direction. It's sometimes not easy to do, and we often see people evaluate too soon and, without noticeable progress (or even regress), they decide to give up.

In this case, a good plan is also a key. So is a proper evaluation at the right time (especially for longer goals), and good decisions based on the results.

Hive Power-Up Day (HPUD) and Power-Up Month (PUM)

Last year, I and a few other Hivers were consistently powering up 1k HIVE every HPUD. That lasted most of the year and part of the year before for me, which was pretty nice. But I decided I won't keep doing it at the same level throughout the bull market, since I have a different plan now.

I haven't lost my consistency though. And at some point, I may restart powering up 1k HIVE every HPUD. We will see.

I kept participating at every HPUD, but I didn't find it necessary to post about it, since we are talking about small amounts...

image.png

The other part that requires even more consistency (daily, instead of once a month) is PUM. Plus, no power downs (from my staking account).

Even though the badges below may give you the wrong impression, I only missed one day of power up from the start of the year.

image.png

If we dive into the details, we see the day missed in February, while HiveBuzz didn't work (still, only one day missed during that period, on Feb 18th):

image.png

And last month, although the badge isn't yet yellow, I powered up every day:

image.png

This isn't much. That's why I didn't even talk about it this year, I think. But not interrupting the consistent action helps to keep it a routine. And that will help in the future, when I need it back.


Want to check out my collection of posts?

It's a good way to pick what interests you.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments