Moving on From Toxic Relationships


IMG_20240525_193500_547 (1).jpg

Hello everyone, welcome to my blog, hope you all had a wonderful day.

It is said that most people come into your life for a season, and after that season they most likely leave or just stay but don't contribute much to your life anymore.

I think this is so true because I can't imagine how a person comes into your life, and at that point, it feels like you can't do so much without them, but after a certain period, you begin to realize that, that same person you thought you couldn't do without begins to become a stranger and you see yourself doing just fine without them in the picture.

The prompt for the #Hiveghana community is something that I can relate to and not just me but so many people as well and I just couldn’t turn a blind eye to it.

Have you had to cut a friend or family member off? What did they do and how did it affect you? Do you wish to rebuild the bond you had with them or you’ll pass on that.

Having a good friend or family member who stands by you always both in the good times and in the bad times is a blessing, if you have such around you, you should be grateful to them and also to God and hold them tight as such people are rare to come by.

IMG_20240622_103643_870.jpg

There's so much that can go right in your life if you have supportive friends and family members, but only one toxic family member or friend around you can cause havoc or even wreck your life.

I am a reserved person, so I don't really have so many people within my circle, and most people usually think that it's me being proud and not wanting to relate to them, but the reverse is actually the case.

So I have this aunt, she's the younger sister of my dad, growing up, we weren't really close to her, in general, we weren't really close to my relatives from my dad's end, it was more of my mom's family members we really closed to. This aunt of mine was very strict, I would also say petty in some way.

During my last year of High School, I had to go to the school she teaches at, she and her family lived within the vicinity of the school so I had to go stay with her for some time.

Before I went to stay with her, I had heard stories of how she could be very mean at times, but I didn't take it to heart. Upon getting there, we were going well as per our relationship, but at some point, I began to notice some subtle changes in her attitude. If I made a little mistake, she would make a fuss about it, and that wouldn't even be the end of it as she could literally stop talking to me until she was satisfied and felt she had punished me enough.

IMG_20240525_193432_670.jpg

This attitude of hers continued for a while. I started walking on eggshells around the house making sure not to offend her in any way, was it easy? No!

Now that I am an adult, whenever I meet her, she would begin to recount ugly memories of the past always complaining about my behavior and what not and it was tiring to watch and listen to her do all of that. I expected her to overlook some things, and not always pick on every little mistake I made, because a parent or guardian's job is to correct the child.

Her energy wasn't matching mine as she was always bitter towards me whenever we had an opportunity to meet. At some point, I even had to question myself if I did anything grave to her that warranted such treatment, but I couldn't think of any.

After a while I had to keep her at arm's length, I wouldn't really say I cut her off, but I try not to be in the same space as her, except when necessary. I had to do that for my peace of mind because my peace of mind is paramount.

This is my entry for the #Hiveghana prompt. I hope you got value. Thanks for stopping by ❤

All images are mine except otherwise stated

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center