My Journey to Hive Platform and More


Canva designed

Three years ago at this time, I packed up my writing equipment and said goodbye to blogging. This happened after the popular Read.cash tipping bot we called Rusty parted ways with the blogging platform. This means that from then on there will be no rewards for writers on the platform.

This was the platform where I started my blogging journey, developed my writing skills and made a name for myself in the community. It was hard to say goodbye then, just like the tipping bot "Rusty" did, yet it was the only option left, so I dumped the computer and started exploring other options in the crypto space.

The life of a writer is like a journey to discover new places and learn new things. Once you start blogging consistently for a long time, breaking these habits is like sentencing yourself to life imprisonment.

While I stopped blogging on the read.cash platform, I never felt normal even though I was still making some income from crypto investing and trading. It was like a part of me was missing. I've been dying to get back into blogging but I couldn't find the right platform to do it and the fear of starting over on a new platform scared the hell out of me.

I would occasionally post to the read.cash platform to test if things had changed. But damn, Rusty's reward tipping shoe was gone. During this occasional posting, a friend who was on the Hive platform recommended that I give Hive a try.

Although I've heard of the Hive platform before and even created an account with ecency, I haven't found the courage to move forward beyond reposting one or two of my older posts from read.cash. The platform was so complicated for me to understand and I didn't even know where to post my posts. I just sent them to see if there would be a response which never came. And I never went back except on the recommendation of my friend.

On December 8, 2022, I decided to give Hive a try on my friend's recommendation. I created this Hive account on the same day because I didn't have access to the previous account I created earlier. M friend gave me some pointers on how the platform works and recommended some communities I should try to post and join.

Like a wounded lion, I fired on all cylinders and threw post after post in every community. This time I was determined, and I thought to myself that the more posts I made, the better chance I had of being discovered and maybe getting some upvotes. I did this for about four months with no significant results.

It was my friend who came through again and told me to slow down my posting speed and find a community that best suits my preferences. That's when I settled into the Leofinance community and Leothread where I got in touch with like-minded people and started getting recognition from the community. As I continue to engage with the community as well as post daily, I feel like I have finally found a place to learn and grow on the Hive platform.

Finding the Hive platform has been both a blessing and a learning experience to me. Although I have not achieved any of my goals for joining the platform, I am grateful for the benefits and experiences so far. These days I don't post out of desperation for upvotes like I did in the beginning. I write when I feel the need to, or when I see something that really resonates with me.

And what's more! I like the whole concept of the Hive platform and I am thankful for my friend who recommended me to the platform.

This post could serve as how I joined the Hive platform and my experience with the platform so far. Whichever way you look at it, I hope you find it interesting.

Thanks for reading!

This is an entry for the Indian United community weekly writing contest. You can check the post link below to know more about the contest.

@indiaunited/indiaunited-weekly-contest-20-theme--how-did-you-join-hive--and-winner-announcement-of-previous-contest

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments