Grow Diaries 2024 #12 Pest Attack 🐛

Disclaimer:

This post is about medical/recreational cannabis.
I recommend you don't use it.
It could be illegal in your country.
Be careful!

image.png

This was the very early morning; Lighting wasn't ideal

Pre-flower

I don't know what exactly qualifies as preflower - especially with the autos, these phases are not as clear cut, it seems.
Anyways, that's the start of female flowers, easily distinguishable by the long white pistils.
I wish these plants grew a little taller first, but then again, I am also not complaining about a quick harvest.

So far that's looking good, but in the picture above, there is something else visible...

IMG_20240810_080144.jpg

Pest

See the white spots?
Something is chewing on the underside of the leaves.
They are tiny green little bugs. Looks like aphids to me.
The camera does not catch them.

Whatever it is: It won't totally ruin the harvest, but it needs attention.

Pest Control

  • Removing the bugs mechanically

Trying that, but my motor-functions are still affected.
I can not really move my hand that well...

  • Removing the leaves

I don't want to - seems too drastic at this stage

  • Insecticide / Insect-repellant

I'll start with the weakest one I know: black tea.

  • Predators

This is outdoors... Pests can come in, but also their predators.
Maybe I am lucky and a ladybug shows up 🐞

I am not too worried... for now...

IMG_20240810_080234.jpg

The Original

Behind the 2 autos, I still have the photo-plant.
It showed some pistils, but is not near pre-flower.
It also shows no signs of bug-damage, at least not any new spots.
It had the same troubles some weeks earlier, but back then my hand was better and I could remove all bugs.

It developed a strong 'herbal' smell now, but does not smell of female cannabis, yet.
However, the strong aroma is probably working as pest-repellant.

It's also outgrowing its pot...
This size would be ideal - If it went into flowering (generative) stage now.
Since it is photoperiodic, this depends on the lighting and I have some light pollution as well.
I hope it starts soon, or this means I'll have to stick to autos for every grow.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center