Don't shoot the face!

Alcobaça streets bw 1.jpg


Learning new things about photography is like with many other things (cooking, drawing, building... you name it). You can know all the theory, basic rules, tricks and techniques. But until you try it yourself and see what works and what doesn't, it's like you know nothing Jon Snow.

I have been admiring street photography for a very long time, wishing I could do that too. And I know I am far behind. But I will get there. Slowly. Or not.. who knows :)
What I did not want to do was annoy people seeing me shoot them. The thing is - I do not have to show their faces at all (though street portraits are amazing!). A silhouette is enough... or simply avoiding focusing on the face. Simply to respect their privacy (just as I would like to have mine respected in case someone points their camera at me).


Alcobaça streets bw 5.jpg


These were shot in Alcobaça in the center. It is good to stop and look around. The opportunities to shoot are endless. Just slow down and look at the fragments instead of the whole town in one go. It helps me at least.

Alcobaça streets bw 8.jpgAlcobaça streets bw10.jpg



They didn't even know I was there :)


Alcobaça streets bw 2.jpg

Alcobaça streets bw 4.jpgAlcobaça streets bw 3.jpg



Some the long streets near the center were quite empty. One half in the sun, the other in a shadow. It's all about contrasts.


Alcobaça streets bw 6.jpg


The walls of the monastery from old stone.


Alcobaça streets bw 7.jpg


Mandatory pigeon shot :)
Few of them were parading on the big empty space, like if they were kings there. And despite that I am ok shooting their faces they were not the most cooperative pigeons I shot.


Alcobaça streets bw 9.jpg




Bonus monochrome song for today:
Besides - Tenth
year 2022




»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Nikkor 18-55mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Mono banner.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
41 Comments