My First Tecno Phone

mobile-phone-2198770_1280.webp
Image Source




A few days ago, I read a blog where a big celebrity actress said she was strict about her daughter having a phone at the age of 15 years even though she can afford the phone and even though many of her daughter's mates all have a phone which warranted her daughter coming to ask her personally about wanting a phone and when she persisted and almost at a point sounded rude, that lead to her whipping her daughter, it reminded of when I had my first phone.

I went to a prestigious secondary school and even though back then, my family could be classified as the middle class and of course, my parents especially my dad could afford a phone, and would have if they wanted to but they refused me any access to the Internet connection except television.




Theme: What is your first Phone?

The funny thing is that most of my classmate 90% had a phone, talked about the features of their phone, and exchanged contact with others who also had a phone anytime we were on holiday, especially lesson holidays, they came to school with their phone. Now, I am not talking about a button phone that most parents get for their kids, I am talking about good phones, that have great features.

This made me feel uncomfortable around them and then, one day, I was prompted to ask my dad to get a phone, that I needed, and that all my friends had, so it wouldn't be much of a big deal if he got a phone for me especially one that has access to Facebook, which back then was the talk of the town.




My dad took a glance at me and kept mute for a long time before asking me what specifically I needed a phone for and if getting me a phone would help me get a better grade in school, well, I was speechless for a while but I knew he needed an answer and I knew my answer would determine his actions.

So, I gave a genuine answer which was NO but that all my friends had phones and I would love to own a phone as well as it would help me connect with them, especially on social media. At this time, I knew my dad was furious at my reply but kept his calm and he said, "If you can do well in your mathematics this school term, you will get a phone.




Well, my dad knew how bad I was in mathematics, so I knew he caught me where it was hard, well, I tried but still was unable to get a good grade in my mathematics but because of my effort, he promised that he was going to get me a phone was we resumed the next school session which was me graduating to a new class but unfortunately he died in a ghastly motor accident two days to the resumption date.

Well, due to the circumstances surrounding the whole incident, I was given my father's new phone he just bought for himself a few days ago before his accident because his old phone was stolen. So, I could be making calls and answering calls from his office colleagues and family members.

Yeah, lol, that was how I got my first phone, it was a TECNO BUTTON PHONE, one of the expensive phones back then. As of that year, the button phone was the order of the day, nobody was into the smartphone, they just wanted something that could make and answer calls and I wasn't happy about it because I was in a mourning phase.




This is my entry to IndiaUnited Weekly Contest #13: Theme - "What is your first Phone " and Winner Announcement of Previous Contest

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center