The Crazy 'Ole Days!



Which fads did you embrace growing up?


My answer:


Mojeta Doctor was a tailor who lived in the neighbourhood, in the seventies and eighties. He prided himself on being the best fashion designer around, how he managed to pull the wool over the eyes of the villagers for such a long time was what I never understood. As far as I was concerned, his usefulness shouldn't have exceeded mending torn clothes and replacing missing buttons but because he was the only 'tailor' for miles around, well.......the people managed with him and patronized him anyways.
Then came the era of 'bell-bottoms' influenced by the late Pop Star, Michael Jackson, it caught on like wildfire. I remember I was eleven then and everyone wanted to get into the bandwagon and who else was the go-to guy? Mojeta Doctor promised to deliver very trendy pants as he had travelled to the City to learn more of how to make them. I had my doubts but since everyone was letting him make their trending styles, I reluctantly gave in.

It was few days to Christmas when I went to pick up my trousers, my initial fear was justified, the flares were so wide that it looked more of 'bell' than 'bottom'. I knew if he tried mending it, he would do more damage, so I made up my mind to wear it the way it was.

On that Christmas day, I had permed my hair into a high afro that you would think I was actually competing with MJ himself, then I slipped on my sky-high platform shoes. Everyone looked like parachutes' strutting along the dusty streets, our trousers 'sweeping' the ground as we walked by. It was the fashion in vogue and you know, we actually felt like fashion icons! Crazy!



It was crazily crazy! I watched a lot of fads come and go, especially in the eighties, boot cuts, high heels, balloon skirts, giant and kinky killer Afro hairstyles, tightly fitted shirts with loud prints and the first two buttons open-topped. I watched the frenzy with which they gained very wide acceptances. I watched the rise and decline of same fashion trends, I watched tailors and fashion designers invent and design clothes ranging from beautiful, outrageous to outright wacky, I saw the bold and extravagant styles which were more Western, than indigenous.

International pop stars like MJ, Madonna, along with music genres like Afrobeat and hip-hop set style benchmarks that became the craze and the rave of the moment.

Fashion trends would continue to evolve and revolve as a powerful statement of identity, with everyone wanting to stay in the loop. But I would think that the younger are mostly influenced by these fads than the older, I have not worn anything trending for so many years now, if it's not practicable and decent, no matter how 'fad' or popular it is, I wouldn't even touch with a one mile pole...

Fads and trends would always come and go but they would continually evoke that sense of nostalgia from the distant past.

Those crazy 'ole days were the good 'ole days!

This is in response to an initiative of @ericvancewalton, to make us walk down memory lane and relive those moments long gone, keeping them alive for our future generations.

Here's the link

In a year from now you’ll have a legitimate memoir that you can pass along to future generations of your family. But what I really hope is it provides a valuable glimpse into your inner self.


Thumbnail image

Second image


Thank you @ericvancewalton for this noble initiative. 😊


I am @edith-4angelseu and thank you for stopping by my neighbourhood.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now