Chicken Invader? More like Assassin’s Creed and TV displays.

So, it would seem that I am ignorant when it comes to technology in the early days because which one is Chicken Invaders? And Mavis Beacon? What is that? The only thing I remember is snake game, Tetris, Assassin’s Creed and that game where you shift boxes. I can’t remember the name.


Imagined with Meta.ai

When I was fully conscious to understand the world around me, my mom was using BirdPhone. It was the raining phone (open and close). That phone saw torture in my hands. However, it was in that phone I played that game where you move boxes with the small figure, and then one other one that had to do with bursting bubbles. I would monopolize my mom’s phone for hours and I was lucky because she never had much use for it.

Then soon, my mom moved to the Nokia. I can’t remember the exact model, I’m a 2000’s baby and that was so long ago, but this was the phone I got to play the snake game. For some reason, I hated it. I didn’t like my snake getting so long and big only to fail. It just peeved me out. So, I did not play much of it. And my mom’s Nokia saw rest.

Then she bought Tecno TV65. It was the perfect fill-in for those times NEPA would take light around 10pm. I would just take it and on the TV, and my mom and I would watch our Telenovela on AIT. The one we were following then was In The Name of Love (En Numbre Del Amor). I can never forget.

Why I remember and love this phone is for one reason. A neighbor had it and when I would try to join her to see the movie, she would send me away. My mom caught me crying because of it and the woman took the matter personal. The next day, she returned with a brand new phone and said, “Never go there again”.


Imagined with Meta.ai (this imagination is sha lacking)

When I turned 11 or so, I owned my first Blackberry for about two months because it got stolen. It was given to me by an aunt who got the reigning iPhone then and then gave me her old phone. The phone had a scroll button I loved so much and the buttons were so stylish. I had no idea what 2go was and never used it. What I used this phone for was to play games. Assassin’s Creed, Car race and one more I can’t remember. I also filled it with music and the speaker was loud. I used it to collect movies to watch and throughout this period, I had no idea this phone worked with a memory card until the day I couldn’t collect stuff anymore.

I panicked. I was scared and ran to Uncle Joe. I became his favorite because of that phone. He would allow me come and sit with him and we would take turns playing the games. I enjoyed his company and he was a funny guy, plus to my very small brain, he was the smartest guy alive. Oh heavens.

Especially when I saw how he operated my phone like a guru. I would be awed and floored. So I ran to him and he laughed and said my memory was full. And that was when he explained the concept of a memory card, what it does and how to preserve it. It was so eye opening. I still remember the feeling.

That’s all I remember growing up. And it is so bizarre how I remember this just now. I had totally forgotten I owned a blackberry at some point in my life. These prompts do good after all.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center