Knowledge vs Experience, tools for success, growth and personal development

Hello, 👋

Life generally requires knowledge. We need it for proper application. I'm going to share my experience in my place of work here.

We were not born to gain knowledge by default, meaning no man was born with innate knowledge about the world. Instead, knowledge is learned and acquired through effortless reading, social interaction, education, and skills. Knowledge is a powerful weapon that we should continuously seek, and this knowledge will be more effective when we actively engage in activities.

Screenshot_20240819-163445~2.jpg
Image by me

When I went into the sewing business, I didn't just enter or sit on the sewing machine and start sewing. I went through the learning process by being taught first; the knowledge of sewing was given to me as a foundation to solidify my hands-on activities.

You know, how it is been done, for those of you that are apprentices, your boss needs to talk about something, calling things names and explaining. When I was an apprentice, I didn't start with cutting materials. They showed me by teaching me. After some time, unused materials were given to me to learn how to measure and cut. I stayed in measuring for months using chalk to mark on the material for cutting. This is when experience comes in after the theory part. Remember, learning or acquiring knowledge is a process; we need to follow the steps to get it well.

Screenshot_20240828-210357.jpg
Image by me

After I had gotten acquainted with measuring and cutting, I now moved to the sewing machine for sewing properly; I learned this part till I got what I wanted, and my boss applauded me. From there, I now start gaining mastery in learning. At this level, I used to spoil people's clothes. Then, I was staying with my uncle as an apprentice. So he gave me his material to sew for him. I tell you the truth that I sewed nonsense. My uncle saw the nonsense in the mirror, 😂 he called me names. I cried out. I felt so bad. I'm laughing now because I have passed that level. I am a professional. I can sew any kind of style with ease and excitement.

So experience comes with failure, especially in sewing work and other works. Specifically, when you are practicing, you will be falling and rising. Many apprentices do cry before getting the right thing to be done.

Experience is a great teacher; it opens doors for greater insight and engagement. Had it been, I went to obtain the knowledge only without activities to prove what I learned, I would have done how to sew fine clothes today. I will be so ashamed of myself. I can now fly to the anyway with my skills and still maintain my status quo.

Right now, I'm excited for myself to stoop down to learn and experience. The experience is the sweetest part of it.

Screenshot_20240822-144127.jpg
My image

Therefore, knowledge and experience serve as tools for success, growth, and personal development. Without these tools, our lives would be meaningless, and our skills would not be meaningful.

Incorporating these two will take us a long way and we make our world a better place to dwell.

Thank you, #Hivereachout community, for this topic.

Your fashionista,
@dearemem.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center