Oranges On My Orange Tree

IMG_20190107_145700759.jpg

It looks like I have some nice sized oranges this year. I don't think they where this big last year. Funny how some things grow really good one year and not so good in another year.

A long time ago when I first moved in almost 29 years ago I didn't really care about my orange tree. It was there when I moved in. I would never water it. I thought maybe the rainfall was enough.

Someone in 2012 did tell me I would have to water it as the leaves looked like it wasn't getting enough water. So after that I did start to make sure to water it.

So to my surprise the oranges started to taste better. Give a plant what it needs and it will give back to you. So I try to give it more attention.

Is it not like life? Are not people like trees?

Now that reminds me of a scripture, as it is written, But his delight is in the law of the Lord; and in his law doth he meditate day and night. And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper. Psalm 1:2-3.

So we can be like a tree planted by the rivers of water. That sounds like a well watered tree.

Remember what Jesus said about water? As it is written, Jesus answered and said unto her, If thou knewest the gift of God, and who it is that saith to thee, Give me to drink; thou wouldest have asked of him, and he would have given thee living water. John 4:10.

Remember when Jesus told the story of the rich man and Lazarus? Remember how the rich man just wanted one drop of water?

As it is written, And he cried and said, Father Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus, that he may dip the tip of his finger in water, and cool my tongue; for I am tormented in this flame. Luke 16:24.

In hell the rich man is still wanting that one drop of water, that will not come. As opposed to what Jesus said about the living water that whoever receives that water will never thirst again.

As it is written with Jesus speaking, But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life. John 4:14.

So we do have a choice to repent, accept Jesus and do the will of the Father. To those that do and are faithful unto death will never thirst.

Just as natural water is to my orange tree, that causes it to produce sweet fruit, so is him that delights in the law of the Lord as he will be as a tree planted by the rivers of water.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center