Exploring the new pathways

P1270094.jpg

A week ago I was on a hike with some friends to a peak that I've seen probably a thousands times from a town near Rila Mountains - Samokov, but I had never been there. Its name is Ivanov Kamak - 2115m and no one goes there in the summer because there is no pathway to it and it is more easily accessible in the winter because the snow covers most of the shrubs. Still someone had made a pretty decent pathway that starts near the end of the gondola lift of the ski resort Borovets, pass relatively close to that peak, than to Sokolets Peak and connects to one old pathway that ends close to a very beautiful mountain village Beli Iskar.
I offered my friends not to use the gondola but instead to use a ski piste and to go by foot, but they didn't like the idea very much , so I had to accept it and use the lift, which I usually avoid. They wanted to check if that new pathway would be suitable for mountain bikes and ski-touring but it turned out it would need some more cutting of the shrubs for these activities.

41375520_10156918777388754_549812808104017920_o.jpg

You can see here our trek, the starting point - the station of the gondola lift - Yastrebets, then the first detour to Ivanov Kamak and the second - to Sokolets Peak.

8.jpg

From Samokov it looks like that. From left to right - Yastrebets Gondola Station - 2369m, Ivanov Kamak Peak - 2115m, Sokolets Peak - 2014m

2.jpg

Yastrebets Gondola Station

6.jpg

The new pathway

P1270047.jpg

Ivanov Kamak in front of us and Samokov behind it

P1270045.JPG

Ivanov Kamak in front of us and Samokov behind it

P1270050.jpg

I suppose there is an easier way to reach the top, but we didn't find it.

4.jpg

Me trying to find a possible way to go to Ivanov Kamak Peak

P1270056.jpg

P1270060.jpg

At the top

3.jpg

Ivanov Kamak Peak. As usually, my five-fingers "shoes" are in my hand

5.jpg

The new pathway from Yastrebets to Sokolets Peak is done probably by amateurs but their signs were helpful

Our next small detour was to Sokolets Peak. That was my third time there, but that view would never stop to amaze me.

Photo 9.09.jpg

Sokolets Peak

P1270112.jpg

P1270108.jpg

P1270105.jpg

P1270092.jpg

Sokolets Peak

P1270089.jpg

Sokolets Peak

P1270084.jpg

Sokolets Peak

1.jpg

Sokolets Peak - 2014m

P1270078.jpg

Beli Iskar Village from Sokolets Peak

Although most of the time we had to walk downwards with the detour to Ivanov Kamak(without a pathway) and the endless battle with the shrubs and the creeping pine it was quite a challenging hike. When we came back we looked like we were coming back from a battle with scratches and wounds everywhere. Ok, not literally, I am exaggerating. I really enjoyed it not only because of the beautiful views, but also because it was like a full-body training but in a more natural way.

Just look at Jina. She was great! Although we even had to climb here and there she didn't give up and was more like a mountain goat than like a dog.

P1270073.JPG

P1270074.JPG

P1270075.JPG

As I said almost no one goes there, so it is the perfect place for bears and we saw a lot of traces from them, one of them really huge and fresh ot let's say still warm just below Ivanov Kamak, so we were walking and screaming from time to time as loud as we could - Bear, Bear, we are coming! It is important to be loud in such areas, because the meeting wouldn't be pleasant neither for the bear nor for us. Btw the bears are faster than horses!

Photo 10.09.18, 10 35 58 (2).jpg

I was barefoot as usually throughout the whole hike but what surprised me this time was that after Sokolets peak, we weren't a group of mountaineers with one barefoot person, we were four barefoot hikers :)! I guess it is contagious. One of them, that I met for the first time that day, was surprised to see me walking like that on such terrain and asked me many questions about the barefoot walking and he liked the idea so much that this weekend he did a whole 8 hour difficult hike entirely barefoot and was really content to find out about this simple way to recharge yourself. And I am happy to spread the idea :)

“Great things are done when men and mountains meet.”

Thank you for stopping by!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center