Experiencing other cultures and languages

One of my biggest dreams has been to travel out to see the culture of the "white man's land" as we usually call it. It's always entertaining to watch on television and in movies about festivals of different cultures in different countries. I know we have a lot of styles in Nigeria which I know I haven't witnessed all of them, but I'm so interested in going to one of those countries, such as India or the Philippines, to see their festival of big deities, as we see in Bollywood village movies. Yes, I want to feed my eyes.

pexels-sahil-prajapati-178989-974320.jpg

Pexels

Talking about festivals and how they're being practised, I came to find out that the foreigners in the land often join the show and play big roles during the festival if they want to. How?

Just like here in Nigeria, whenever it's festival time for a particular clan or state, even non-Indigenes in the area who feel they want to join can join in every part of it; there wouldn't be any crime or offence for that. Don't you think it happened the same way in your country? It happens just like that in my community.

So I really want to travel to those countries and join them in the activities of their festivals, as long as it's not going to be a crime there.

There's a relative of mine who lives in Brazil with his family, and whenever he comes around, he does tell us that they usually observe some major Nigerian festivals in Brazil, such as the Igbo New Yam festival.
According to him, they would plan it well by getting the unique attire, newly harvested yams, and meals and making good publicity for non-Nigerians living in the area to come and join and celebrate Nigerian culture with them, and many times, those non-Nigerians will grow interested and join them in the main participation. Lovely!

This same thing happens whenever there's a music concert involving many continents. Oftentimes, we will see many white girls and guys that love to dance as dancers for the show. I mean, they'll dance the typical Nigerian dance style.

For Languages;

pexels-meruyert-gonullu-6161509.jpg

Pexels

Intercultural exchange is a lovely thing, as it helps to build more bonds between different areas and countries.
I once had someone replied to me in a comment in Spanish, and instead of going back to respond in English, I decided to type in English, translate it to Spanish, and send it to the person, and we continued like that. At that moment, I really wished I knew how to speak Spanish; it would have created a bigger bond between the person and me. Because of that, I went to start learning Spanish on Duolingo, but it didn't just work; my head was too small for it. hehehe
There's sense of love when two different individuals from different culture blend together in language.

Thanks!

This is my entry to the #aprilinleo prompt, Day 24.
Read full details

![](

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments