Cruddy, Yucky, Nasty, Blah

Hello friends, Hivers and of course my fellow Silver Bloggers. It's been a week since I have caught a cold. I've been telling myself things will be back to normal for me soon, all week. It all started on Monday last week.

It was another typically Monday. I got up and headed to work. It was sometime mid morning I felt like my body got hit by a freight train. Muscles hurt, joints felt weak and just over soreness. I worked OT the night before but it was an easy work load not something that would have caused what I was feeling. I have some dumbbells and bands at work and I thought maybe if I work up a little sweat it'll just pass away. Didn't work but there have been times in the past where doing physical activity has worked.

Well there were some things at home that most likely led to it. My son was just getting over a cold. I can remember thinking a few days before I don't want his cruddy cold. Another thing that probably had something to do with it was getting back onto my normal dosage of medication. I was on a lower dosage of it for a month due to a monthly shortage of it. I knew the medication would have a different effect on me but I wasn't prepared for this cold I caught in addition.

I was beat and went to bed pretty early Monday evening. I soaked a cold wash cloth and placed it on my head because I could feel a fever. This was something I really didn't want to do. I mean who really likes to put something cold on your body when you feel cold? My body felt so cold and all I really wanted to do was curly up in blankets in an attempt to get warm quick.

Tuesday morning even though I slept some plus ten hours I woke up feeling yucky. I rarely call in sick to work but did this day. I actually can't remember the last time I did. Even though I was up I still felt very tired. I forced myself to eat something. I had a piece of toast, some applesauce and a few mixed nuts. I also pounded a few water bottles down. Afterwards I was in the confines of my bed for most of the day right into the night.

Wednesday I went back to work feeling a little bit better. No workload but I was challenged as it was decided it would be a good morning to clean out vehicles. I knew this wasn't going to be an easy task for me but I didn't want throw the sick card out there. I grabbed some windex and paper towels and did both the interior and exterior windows of the vehicles. I made sure to bring plenty of water and slowly paced myself doing the task.

I got home after work stayed up for a little while than went to bed. I really felt a lot better Thursday morning but towards the end of the day I developed a sore throat accompanied by an aging cough. I went to bed pretty close to my normal time but I woke up at 2:00 a.m. hacking out my lungs out. I didn't get a lot of rest and thought Friday was going to be a dragging day at work.

Actually I was a bit surprised it wasn't really a dragging day at all. I came equipped to work with a bag of cough drops. I don't know how many of those suckers I had but I didn't want to be coughing loudly all day. I felt perhaps with a good night's rest and waking up Saturday I will at least be able to save some of my weekend.

It didn't happen unfortunately and Friday nights sleep was the worst yet. I coughed to the point where I could feel the pressure of my forehead stretching. It was also accompanied by nasty flem and mucus.

You see a lot got put on hold this week and there were somethings I wanted to do around the house plus somethings I just wanted to get out and do.You want to know my highlight of the weekend? The one big thing I did was not planned but something I had to take care of. I was in the bathroom and noticed when I flushed the toilet it made a weird noise. It continued to do that a few more flushes than a bit later when I flushed it water came out near its base on the floor. So there you have it I had to replace the wax ring. I'm just glad I had a spare one in the garage. I wasn't happy to notice that there was a good size wet spot on the ceiling in the garage. I'll have to do some drywall repair in the coming days 😞

Yesterday much of the same as Saturday as far as a feeling stand point. Today feeling a bit better the cough still here but not as much. Oh blah a good adjective to sum up this past 7 days! To add more salt, I have to work OT tomorrow and be into work by 4:00 a.m. The rest of the week is clear though and I'm really thinking of taking Friday off. I hope to use it as an attempt to get some sanity back and have an extra day added to the weekend. Needing some positive experiences badly.

Well that's all I have for you today. A long not so well past 7 days which has been cruddy, yucky, nasty and too much blah. Take care, stay safe and have a great week ahead.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center